School Boy Shoes

Vintage Scarf: Quarter Life Vintage, Sweater: Battery Street Jeans (BSJ), Tank: Charlotte Ruse, Skirt: Downtown Threads, Tights: The Sox Market, Gem Ring: Gifted, Oxfords: TargetIn an attempt to branch out from all the black and grey I’ve been wearing I ended up rediscovering my love for browns. I know brown is still a neutral but I’m all about the baby steps people.

For someone who has always avoided yellow, I’m surprised by how much I love this mustard yellow skirt. It goes with just about everything and adds the perfect punch of color. I wasn’t sure if the skirt would work with the slouchy knit top but in the end I like how the proportions worked together. The silhouette was some what similar to this outfit.

I knew I had a busy day at the office so I wanted to keep everything low fuss and high comfort. I was able to achieve both with comfortable oxford flats and a low side ponytail with the cute travel themed scarf from Quarter Life Vintage instead of a hair tie. The trick to looking put together while dressing down is in the details; swapping traditional hair ties for vintage scarves and adding thoughtful accessories are both quick and easy ways too add a polished finish to your look.

How to you dress up casual looks? What tricks do you have for looking dolled up while dressed down?

4 responses to “School Boy Shoes

  1. I don’t wear a lot of yellow because of my skin tone, but I think mustard works a lot better on me than bright yellow. That skirt is super cute.

  2. So cute! I love the mustard skirt! And thank you so much for the shout out on Facebook!!!

    http://www.mythriftychic.com

  3. These oxfords are perfect! I’ve been looking for the right pair, and by the time I discovered Target had them, they were sold out! Love em!

  4. Pingback: School Boy Shoes | Wore Out | Shoes

Leave a comment