The Plato’s Closet Trap

Aviators: Downtown Threads, Velvet Blazer: Zara, Dress: Plato’s Closet, Bracelet: Antique Shop in Maine, Tights: Target, Ankle Boots: Nine WestSchlepping irritates me; so imagine my excitement at the prospect of carrying a laundry basket full of unwanted clothing and accessories across an icy parking lot in single degree weather. By the time my basket and I made it into Plato’s Closet I was sweating (also irritating) and firm in my resolve not to browse while preteen employees sorted through my offerings. I was going to take the money and run.

Flash forward 15 minutes and Katelyn – 13″ (an attempt at spelling my name and the number of items I’d schlepped into the dressing room) is scrawled on the white board attached to my dressing room door. I’m not sure how it happened, I blame the Kelly Rowland techno remixes they were playing, but by the time I made my way to the register I knew my chances at breaking even were slim to none.

Out of the several dozen items and accessories I’d schlepped in Plato’s found 7 items they deemed worthy and were prepared to offer me $17.43. I looked down at the $70 worth of merchandise in my arms and realized I’d fallen into the Plato’s Closet trap, again. After handing over my debit card I stuffed my bag of newly purchased items under my arm, grabbed my laundry basket (still full of unwanted goods) and schlepped it all back across the icy parking lot to my car.

Economically it was a failed errand but when I got home and inventoried the items Plato’s had actually purchased I started seeing things a little differently. In one fell swoop Plato’s Closet rid me of the “going out outfits” I’d bought in college and they’d paid me for it! Suddenly the suede dress with the exposed zippers I’d purchased for $16 felt more and more like a steal.

Have you fallen into the Plato’s Closet trap? What are your tips for having a successful consignment store trip?

14 responses to “The Plato’s Closet Trap

  1. Oh you’re so funny! 🙂 I love this story. Seriously story of my life. Every time I go to take something back, I inevitably spend more instead of having the store give me money! It never works the other way around.

    I can’t wait to see that suede dress!

    • I’m glad this type of thing doesn’t just happen to me Catherine! I’m actually wearing the suede dress in today’s post! It’s so soft and supple it’s hard not to swoon when I think about it, haha!

  2. This is an ongoing problem in my life. But in my small town, there’s one local consignment store that routinely takes eeeeeverything I bring in, so I stick to them instead of trying one of the bigger places like Buffalo Exchange or Crossroads. At least you got rid of a bunch of old pieces that don’t deserve to brush elbows with your treasures!

    • You are so lucky to have one spot that takes all of your goodies Martinalynne, schlepping my laundry basket of unwanted clothing items from store to store makes me feel like a peddler!

  3. Oh my. I’ve done this all too many times. Usually, though, I justify it in the same way that you have. This dress is adorable!

    • You and I would be dangerous shopping buddies Frannie Pantz! I’d help you justify your purchases and you’d help me justify mine and then we’d both end up eating ramen all week! I’m glad I’m not the only one who puts a little spin on their shopping habits.

  4. Love the dress you picked up…such fun pocket details. At least you actually drag your stuff in…I always bag it up and with the intention of bringind it to Crossroads, but always forget…then the hubs just throws the bag away!

    • Don’t be fooled Rlutz, my “to consign” bag has been sitting in the spare bedroom since this summer. The BF finally laid down the law and made me move the bags. He was not impressed when I told him Plato’s only took 7 items! haha

  5. I’ve never heard of Plato’s closet, but I do really like that dress! : )

    • Thanks Stephanie, I love this dress too! I was unsure about the pockets at first but I’ve really fallen in love with it now. Plato’s Closet is a consignment store similar to Buffalo Exchange (we don’t have any those in VT) that’s mostly teen/junior clothing but they usually have a good denim selection so it’s worth the occasional drop in.

  6. Love the dress and the cute triangle pockets!

    http://www.mythriftychic.com/

  7. Gorgeous dress and the boots are add the perfect edge.

    x
    Michelle
    http://www.michellesstylefile.blogspot.com

  8. The Plato’s Closet in our area is incredibly picky about what they take, so I’ve pretty much given up trying to sell anything any more. And, yes, I usually manage to convince myself to buy an armload of stuff I don’t need.

    • I had that same exact experience Grace. I brought in some gems (J. Crew cashmere sweaters, vintage sun dresses..) and they bought my cheaper pieces (polyester/sparkly going out tops).

Leave a Reply

