Daily Archives: January 27, 2012

Plum Tights and Lace

(left):commuting shoes – (right): office shoesBlouse: Goodwill, Dress & Tights: Target, Gold Belt: Battery Street Jeans, Heels: Michael Antonio (via Endless), Coat: Thrifted, Black Boots: Old NavyI was really surprised by how much I loved this look. It’s a bit outside my usual comfort zone but not so much that I felt like I was wearing someone else’s clothes.

The blouse I’m wearing is one of my favorite thrifting finds. I found it abandon in the housewares department at Goodwill for $3 and I haven’t stopped loving it since. The lace collar and detailing on the shoulders harken back to one of my favorite periods in time and fashion, the Victorian Era.

In the late 1800’s fashion was ruled by cultural and social restrictions; how you dressed communicated your social station. Looser garments were reserved for the working class while propriety dictated that members of the upper class wear numerous layers and restrictive garments. Women in the upper class wore  layers of under garments (in the hopes that undressing would be so taxing it would be avoided) and laced into corsets and rigid garments that made even the smallest tasks arduous, further instilling the belief that women were the weaker sex.

While I’m glad my mornings aren’t spent wrestling with corsets and crinoline I can’t help but love the fashions that came out of this era.

What era in fashion speaks to you? Do you find Victorian inspired looks restrictive and rigid or delicate and feminine?

For more Victorian inspired fashions follow Wore Out on Pinterest!