Daily Archives: January 13, 2012

Color Mixing Superstition

Glasses: Eyefly, Blazer: UO, Dress and Tights: Target, Booties: Old Navy, Watch: Thrifted, Lipstick: Party Parrot, Iris Apfel for MAC I’ve never really bought into the superstition surrounding Friday the 13th. My first kiss was on Friday the 13th and while that relationship was short lived (as most relationships that begin on school buses are) I lay no blame on the date.

I may not buy into it but Friday the 13th seemed like the perfect excuse to give a new outfit a whirl. I know it’s hard to tell in these photos but my tights are actually a deep plum color. I liked how the jewel tone tights and almost metallic teal color of the dress complimented each other. I’m pretty hesitant when it comes to mixing colors but since these tights were such a deep purple I figured they would act as a neutral.

I bought this brocade dress almost two years ago and now it’s a bit too big so I used the skinny black belt to give it more shape. While belting it was a quick fix I think for the long run I’m either going to consign it or have it taken in. There’s no use letting ill fitting clothes take up precious closet space!

 Are you comfortable mixing colors or do you tend to wear a lot of neutrals? How often do you have clothes altered? Do you use a tailor or DIY?