Daily Archives: January 3, 2012

Silk Scarves & Stags

Sunnies, Skirt & Stag Ring: Downtown Threads, Knit Sweater: Gifted, Scarf: Office Yankee Swap, Button up: Ralph Lauren, Bracelet: Chinatown, Gem Ring: Gifted, Tights: Sox Market, Boots: Italy, Jacket: UOHappy Belated New Year All!

I’ve been under the weather for the past few days so please forgive the lack of posting. One of my goals for the new year is to be braver bolder when it comes to adding color into my wardrobe and I thought this mustard colored skirt from Downtown Threads was the perfect way to start.

I usually avoid all shades of yellow and orange because of my skin tone and hair color but since it was a skirt, and wouldn’t be close to my face or hair, I decided to give it a whirl. To play down the warmer tones I paired my new mustard skirt with a neutral cable knit sweater and the beautiful silk scarf that I got at my office’s yankee swap.

For me the perfect finishing touch was the stag ring I bought as a Christmas gift to myself. It added the perfect touch of whimsy and I figured that if the mustard skirt looked hideous the massive antlers would distract people.

What fashion goals/resolutions did you sent for yourself in 2012?