Looking Ahead

Resolutions, why I never kept them and what I’m doing about it.

I’m really great at setting resolutions and saying I’m going to keep them, it’s the sticking with it part eludes me. Many of my past resolutions imposed restrictions (no carbs, 2008) and rules (run 25 miles a week, 2010) when I should have been focused on resolutions that would help me grow and evolve in the new year. So this year instead of making resolutions (only to have them derail by the second week of January) I’m setting positive personal goals.

Why am I talking about this now?

The holidays can be a crazy time of year and I want to make sure I give myself time to reflect on 2011 before setting meaningful and purposeful goals for 2012.

  • What worked for me in 2011? What positive steps did I take? What can I do to improve?
  • What did I struggle with? What obstacles did I over come, where did I stumble, did I give up?
  • What do I wish I had spent more time on? Who do I wish I had spent more time with?

Sometimes looking back is the key to moving forward; you can’t live in the past but you can certainly learn from it.

Getting there.

I want to feel confident in the goals I set for myself in 2012 and part of that is planning. I’m a planner by nature and know that my chances of reaching my goals will be greatly improved if I have a goal map that I can reference and track my progress with.

As I start to create my goal map a big chunk of  it revolves around my goals for Wore Out in the coming year. I have a few ideas but I’d love to hear from you.

  • What’s working? What could you do without?
  • Are there features that you liked more than others?
  • What do you want to see more of?

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? What are your goals/resolutions for the new year?

(photo credits: Goal Map & New Year’s Lanterns)
5 responses to “Looking Ahead

  1. so good to set goals! i need to do that. but i barely make lists and get through them 🙂 i’d have to start with doing and folding laundry. sigh. anyway, this is awesome of you to do this!

    Claire

  2. its always great to set goals! and make an inspiration board, that helps!

    ❤ steffy
    steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  3. What an insightful post. Definitely gives me a new perspective on resolution-making.

  4. Pingback: Silk Scarves & Stags | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

