Daily Archives: January 23, 2012

The Plato’s Closet Trap

Aviators: Downtown Threads, Velvet Blazer: Zara, Dress: Plato’s Closet, Bracelet: Antique Shop in Maine, Tights: Target, Ankle Boots: Nine WestSchlepping irritates me; so imagine my excitement at the prospect of carrying a laundry basket full of unwanted clothing and accessories across an icy parking lot in single degree weather. By the time my basket and I made it into Plato’s Closet I was sweating (also irritating) and firm in my resolve not to browse while preteen employees sorted through my offerings. I was going to take the money and run.

Flash forward 15 minutes and Katelyn – 13″ (an attempt at spelling my name and the number of items I’d schlepped into the dressing room) is scrawled on the white board attached to my dressing room door. I’m not sure how it happened, I blame the Kelly Rowland techno remixes they were playing, but by the time I made my way to the register I knew my chances at breaking even were slim to none.

Out of the several dozen items and accessories I’d schlepped in Plato’s found 7 items they deemed worthy and were prepared to offer me $17.43. I looked down at the $70 worth of merchandise in my arms and realized I’d fallen into the Plato’s Closet trap, again. After handing over my debit card I stuffed my bag of newly purchased items under my arm, grabbed my laundry basket (still full of unwanted goods) and schlepped it all back across the icy parking lot to my car.

Economically it was a failed errand but when I got home and inventoried the items Plato’s had actually purchased I started seeing things a little differently. In one fell swoop Plato’s Closet rid me of the “going out outfits” I’d bought in college and they’d paid me for it! Suddenly the suede dress with the exposed zippers I’d purchased for $16 felt more and more like a steal.

Have you fallen into the Plato’s Closet trap? What are your tips for having a successful consignment store trip?