Daily Archives: January 9, 2012

Party Parrot

Glasses: Eyefly, Scarf: Gifted, Blazer: Zara, Tee: H&M, Jeans: Levi’s, Booties: Old Navy, Silver Bracelet: Thrifted, Blue Bead Bracelet: Gifted, Pink Bracelet: Bought in Rome, Lipstick: Iris Apfel for MAC, Party ParrotBetween my new glasses from eyefly and this killer lipstick from Iris Apfel for MAC line, I feel like a new woman (and according to D I look like one too!)

While I’m not sure I like how my boyfriend jeans looked rolled up with my booties I really love the rest of this look. I tried to strike a balance between my casual outfit and bold accessories ( bright lipstick, wild hair and glasses) while keeping it workplace appropriate. My black velvet Zara blazer does double duty in this look. The classic silhouette in rich velvet dresses up my boyfriend jeans perfectly while it’s neutral enough to tie all of my bold pieces together.

Just like you can dress up a casual look with statement pieces you can even out bold prints, colors and accessories by keeping the rest of your look clean and casual. In the end everything should be working together, not fighting for the spotlight.

How to you find a balance when mixing classic pieces and bold accessories?