Party Parrot

Glasses: Eyefly, Scarf: Gifted, Blazer: Zara, Tee: H&M, Jeans: Levi’s, Booties: Old Navy, Silver Bracelet: Thrifted, Blue Bead Bracelet: Gifted, Pink Bracelet: Bought in Rome, Lipstick: Iris Apfel for MAC, Party ParrotBetween my new glasses from eyefly and this killer lipstick from Iris Apfel for MAC line, I feel like a new woman (and according to D I look like one too!)

While I’m not sure I like how my boyfriend jeans looked rolled up with my booties I really love the rest of this look. I tried to strike a balance between my casual outfit and bold accessories ( bright lipstick, wild hair and glasses) while keeping it workplace appropriate. My black velvet Zara blazer does double duty in this look. The classic silhouette in rich velvet dresses up my boyfriend jeans perfectly while it’s neutral enough to tie all of my bold pieces together.

Just like you can dress up a casual look with statement pieces you can even out bold prints, colors and accessories by keeping the rest of your look clean and casual. In the end everything should be working together, not fighting for the spotlight.

How to you find a balance when mixing classic pieces and bold accessories?

13 responses to “Party Parrot

  1. I like being bold with clothing and accessories, and I how I do both is pretty simple. If the clothing has an interesting shape or structure but in a neutral color, perfect. Then I can pair those pieces with crazy jewelry. I do not like to mix wild patterned clothing pieces with wild jewelry (usually 😉

    • You have it down to a science girl! I agree that neutral pieces with interesting shapes and textures are the best to play around with. They add a ton of interest to an outfit without making your outfit feel or look cluttered/busy.

  2. Love the up-do!

  3. I love this look! Your glasses are super cute…and the boyfriend jeans look great 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  4. I love this look Cait! Your boyfriend jeans and striped top balance nicely with the blazer, booties and scarf. Not to mention, you look absolutely adorable in glasses and with a bun!

  5. love this look, especially hair, glasses and lips. its bold and sexy yet still conservative and casual. great balance.

  6. You are totally rocking that lipstick! And thanks for the advice on how to mix bold colours into an outfit while keeping it clean looking. It’s definitely something I need to work on.

  7. The dressier blazer totally dresses up the jeans. The boyfriend jeans look great with the boots…love the look! That color lipstick is fabulous!

  8. I love the jeans! And the glasses! What a great look!

  9. I really like the boyfriend jeans rolled up with booties look. It kinda gives the look a different sort of edge. You know I like the unexpected.

    Can I just tell you that the color of your hair is all kinds of fabulous? It’s so stunning…eye catching, really!

    Oh,and I love the glasses!

  10. Pingback: Everyday Costumes | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

