Floral Midi Flashback

Sunnies: Chinatown, Sweater: Loft (via the Clothes Exchange),

Tank: Old Navy, Belt: Taken off Gifted Dress, Skirt: Downtown Threads,

Wedges: Vintage (via my mom)

I wore this skirt about a month ago for memorial day but this is outfit has a much more summery feel to it. We’ve been enjoying perfect summer weather in Burlington lately but my office is freezing cold so I have bring a sweater or jacket with me to work. The sweater I paired with this look (last seen here) has quickly become one of my favorite layering pieces. I was worried that the sweater’s shimmer would look too “busy” against the skirt’s floral pattern but in the end I thought it added the perfect amount of interest.

Switching between the gold shimmer of the sweater and the bright aquamarine of the silk tank totally changed the look and feel of my outfit. It felt like I had two totally different outfits on. The sweater played nicely off the brown accessories but also brought out the warmer golden tones in the skirt. While the aquamarine tank top stood out against the brown making the reds, pinks, and greens in the skirt pop.  I wish I would have thought to tie the sweater over my shoulder 80’s style as I would have see both colors in action, but hindsight is 20/20.

What unexpected color combinations have you been playing with lately? Which top work better with this look?

2 responses to “Floral Midi Flashback

  1. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

  2. Pingback: My Golden Booties | Wore Out

Leave a comment