Penny Lane

Sunnies: Gifted,  Jacket: Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Sweater: Gap, Belt: Target, Jeans: Charlotte Ruse, Booties: Jeffery CampbellI’ve wanted this coat since I saw Kate Hudson as Penny Lane in Almost Famous. A few weeks ago I got a call from Carolyn at Downtown Threads telling me to get to the store ASAP because she’d found my dream coat. When I finally made it to the store and Carolyn pulled this suede beauty out my heart almost stopped. It was the coat I’d always wanted and it fit me like a glove!

The jacket is 100% suede and I love that you can flip the collar up for a more dramatic (and warmer) look. The collar itself is shearling, it’s so dense that your fingers disappear into the fleece when you touch it. I love how the coat is nipped in at the waist so you can be warm and cozy without looking or feeling bulky. I couldn’t believe the jacket’s pristine condition after Carolyn told me that she found it in a storage unit!

It may have taken me a few years to track it down but now that I finally have my perfect ‘Penny Lane’ coat I can say it was definitely worth the wait.

What pieces are you still searching for? What piece in your closet took you the longest to track down?

23 responses to “Penny Lane

  1. SO glamorous! You’re a movie star, Cait! I feel like you should be more caught off guard in these photos though – like the paparazzi caught you.

    • Haha if I was a movie star you’d be my PR department aka we’d be partying it up! I like the idea of the paparazzi photos though, now if only I could get D to follow me around while I do errands!

  2. Love your photography near the waterfront. Do you work near-by?

    • Thank you Nancy, the waterfront is one of my favorite places to take photographs because the lighting and colors are so wonderful. I live and work in Burlington so the waterfront is always pretty close!

  3. This is the PERFECT Penny Lane jacket. What an amazing find indeed! I am absolutely in love with it. I love when your searches end in success! What I am also loving are the sleeves on this sweater and how you have belted it. The heels are great too. All in all, this is prob one of my favorite looks of yours of all time. Seriously.

  4. OMG!!! You have GOT to let me borrow that jacket!! It is amazeballs!!

    I love your outfit too. The sweater is so pretty

    Prissy

    • Prissy, we should organize a swap ASAP especially since we’re both an 8.5 in shoes! Jacket and shoe swap are in the works.

  5. great find! love this look.

  6. That jacket is certainly fabulous, but those shoes are stealing the show for me! Love the whole ensemble – perfect for B’town in the late fall.

    • I’m surprised by how nice the weather has been in B-town lately Grace. This time of year it’s usually yucky and grey. The booties were another ah-mazing find, I ended up getting them for less than half the original price, which is unheard of for Jeffery Campbell’s!

  7. You look glamorous and like a star in this coat. It’s so great that they know you so well and call you when something comes in like that. I mean, isn’t that how stars are treated? See? You aren’t almost famous. You ARE famous.

    • You are too sweet Tracy! I always tell people to form a relationship with the people at thrift/consignment stores. Shop there enough and they’ll be happy to help you track down those perfect pieces!

  8. That coat is so fabulous…what a killer find!! Love how you belted the dolman sleeve sweater to reign it in! Great outfit!!

  9. Just amazing- what a stunning coat! Your hair is so pretty- I wish mine would style like that! Also those jeans fit you like a glove!

  10. you look glam and stylish, I like this hollywood glamour look. The fur jacket is beautiful. I like the sweater too, the sleeves are fabulous. Nice shots!

    mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  11. That coat is certainly awesome, and so are those boots!

  12. Ooh wow, gorgeous coat!! You are totally Penny Lane in this! How great that you have shopping friends looking out for you and your fashion dreams. 🙂

    I’d like to find something REALLY high-end at a thrift store. Probably a pipe dream, but I’d really like that rush of adrenaline knowing I’m scoring something major for less than $20.

  13. Super cute outfit!!! I absolutely LOVE that vintage jacket…HAUTE!

  14. This coat looks so awesome! So glad you were finally able to track it down- it seems like it was totally worth the wait! 🙂

  15. Gorgeous coat! I love the shearling collar. You look so seventies chic.

  16. Pingback: 1920s Paisley Turban Styled for 2012 « Sammy Davis Vintage

Leave a comment