Booties & Tofu

Knit Hat: Downtown Threads, Blouse: Vintage (via my Mom), Dress: Target, Belt: The Possibility Shop, Tights: TJ Maxx, Booties: Bamboo (via Amazon), Turkish “evil eye” Bracelet: Gifted (thanks Dad!)

I don’t like to play favorites when it comes to my shoes but these leopard print booties are hard to beat. When I bought them I remember my friends laughing and shaking their heads saying “ohh wow.” I was hesitant about wearing them out at first but they quickly became one of my favorite pairs of shoes. Not only are they comfortable, warm and the perfect height but they are a great conversation starter.

Styling a LBD is a lot like cooking with tofu. Tofu naturally takes on the flavors of whatever you’re cooking it with; similarly the accessories you pair with your LBD set the tone of your whole look. I wanted to keep my outfit casual and fun so I layered a blouse from my mom’s college days under my dress and added some shape to the look with my red belt. My slouchy knit hat and bold booties kept the outfit fun and helped me avoid looking too “dressy” in my very casual office.

I like that I could just remove the hat and blouse, add a cute cropped jacket (maybe something with sequins) and a bit more eyeliner and be ready for drinks or dinner after work.

How have you styled LBDs in the past? What quick tricks do you have to take an outfit from day to night?

10 responses to “Booties & Tofu

  1. Love this look. Wish there was a close-up of the bracelet though!

    • You’re such a doll Leah! I know I should have snapped a close up of it. Ted brought it back from Turkey for me, it’s got these really cool ceramic beads that are suppose to ward off the evil eye!

  2. Why don’t I ever think to put a Tank-y dress over a button up! Thanks for the inspiration. Don’t worry about the booties they are fabulous!
    http://work-it-blog.blogspot.com/

  3. LOVEE the leopard print shoes. But I especially love your red hair. It’s gorgeous!

    Belly B 🙂

  4. How adorable are you? Answer: freakin’ adorable. The fact that we have matching leopard shooties just made my day. Great analogy- LBD = tofu.
    LOL!

  5. Awww I LOVE the analogy and this outfit! I may have to do an “inspired by” post this week thanks to this. This is how I get my LBDs through the long winter – add tights and boots and you’re set! 🙂

  6. I was all, “Wait…………what? How does Tofu relate to fashion.” And then you hit me with the facts! LOL. That was genius. It’s so true. I love your style and those booties are FIERCE!!

    xoxoxoxo and a few more xoxoxo’s

  7. These booties are superb! I love that you let them take center stage here!

Leave a Reply

