Daily Archives: December 10, 2012

Holiday Traditions

Wore Out, Holiday Traditions , Holiday Cookies, Family Traditions during the Holidays, Norwegian Holiday Cookies, Kringle, Almond Pastry , Traditional Scandinavian Holiday Foods,This weekend was all about celebrating and sharing holiday traditions. Saturday afternoon D’s Grandmother, Ingrid, gave me a one on one lesson in the art of making kringle, a traditional Norwegian pastry filled with almonds. Not only is kringle one of D’s favorite parts of the holiday but it’s a long standing family tradition on his side.

Wore Out, Holiday Traditions , Holiday Cookies, Family Traditions during the Holidays, Norwegian Holiday Cookies, Kringle, Almond Pastry , Traditional Scandinavian Holiday Foods,Wore Out, Holiday Traditions , Holiday Cookies, Family Traditions during the Holidays, Norwegian Holiday Cookies, Kringle, Almond Pastry , Traditional Scandinavian Holiday Foods,It was an amazing experience to watch and work with Ingrid in the kitchen. I learned so much watching her work.

It was even more exciting when Ingrid declared my first batch of kringle a success and tasked me with bringing the kringle to the family’s Christmas Eve party. Needless to say D will be enjoying more than a few pieces of kringle between now and then. I plan on making at least two more trial batches.

After my kringle lesson D and I headed to our friends house to celebrate the first night of Hanukkah with traditional fare and lots of laughter. It was the first Hanukkah celebration for the majority of the guests and it was fun to learn new traditions together.

Wore Out, Holiday Traditions , Holiday Cookies, Family Traditions during the Holidays, Norwegian Holiday Cookies, Kringle, Almond Pastry , Traditional Scandinavian Holiday Foods, The First Night of Hanukkah Here I am showing off my first batch of kringle with my friend Rebecca, the Hanukkah hostess with the mostest!

What are your favorite holiday traditions?