Bookworm Wednesday: every picture tells a story

Wore Out, Bookworm Wednesday, Ansel Adams, Ansel Adams Birthday, Famous American Photographers, Black and White Photography, Ansel Adams BooksToday would have been Ansel Adams’ 111th birthday and I know it might seem strange to celebrate a famed photographer’s birthday in a feature dedicated to literature but given that a picture is worth a thousand words I’d consider Ansel Adams to be one of the greatest authors of all time.

For those of you unfamiliar with Ansel Adams’ genius I would suggest starting with Ansel Adams: Our National Parks  or Ansel Adams: An Autobiography Wore Out, Bookworm Wednesday, Ansel Adams, Ansel Adams Birthday, Famous American Photographers, Black and White Photography, Ansel Adams Books, Ansel Adams: Our National ParksMy dad bought me a copy of Our National Parks when I was just starting to get interested in photography and I remember being awestruck not only by the photos but by Adams’ storytelling abilities from behind the lens. Adams’ photos were able to capture the majesty and grandeur of The National Parks without loosing their natural beauty or connection to a greater story. The idyllic scenes Adam’s captured helped preserve some of our nations most beautiful landscapes and to this day are used to promote conservationism.

Who would you consider a great storyteller? 

 

10 responses to “Bookworm Wednesday: every picture tells a story

  1. love this post! A great story teller makes you lose your perception of time, reality, makes your jaw drop with out even realizing it…

  2. I have been a big fan of Adams for the last decade but the photographer I like best is Jerry Uelsmann. Long before the days of the PC and photoshop, he mastered photo manipulation to make surreal imagery. If I can find it, I will send you one that Uelsmann did as a homage to Ansel Adams. I think it is in the Yosemite book.

    • Ema, I would love to see Uelsmann’s tribute to Ansel Adams’ if you can find it and I’ll be checking out Uelsmann’s work as soon as I get home.

  3. Ansel Adams will forever be one of my favorite photographers. Such beautiful work!

    • I feel the same way Megan, I know Ansel got a lot of criticism for not photographing people but I prefer it that way. It’s almost like he was intentionally trying to show what the earth would or could be without humans.

  4. My boyfriend loves Ansel Adams. For Christmas I ordered a framed copy of “Moon and Half Dome,” Brian’s favorite photo of his. I’m going to have to order him that book next!

  5. Adams’ work is fantastic!

    I also consider Springsteen (the early years) and Dave Matthews as two great storytellers – via song!

Leave a Reply

