Simple Stripes, Big Hair

Wore Out, Outfit Posts, Striped Denim, ELLE Ankle Booties, Steve Madden Bag, Black Moto Jacket, Simple Winter Outfits, Charlotte Russe Scarf, Southwestern Print Scarf, Black and White Outfit Ideas, Wardrobe Staples, Simple Outfit Ideas for Cold WeatherWore Out, Outfit Posts, Striped Denim, ELLE Ankle Booties, Steve Madden Bag, Black Moto Jacket, Simple Winter Outfits, Charlotte Russe Scarf, Southwestern Print Scarf, Black and White Outfit Ideas, Wardrobe Staples, Simple Outfit Ideas for Cold WeatherHat & Scarf (similar): Charlotte Russe, Moto Jacket: Forever 21 (similar), Cable Knit Sweater: TJ Maxx, Striped Jeans: Revolution, Steve Madden Bag: Macy’s, ELLE Booties: Kohl’s, Ring: Montreal Street Cart

After close to twenty years of struggling my hair and I have come to a mutual understanding. I give it plenty of Moroccan Oil, only wash it twice a week, and keep the heat to a minimum; in return I’m left with more curl than frizz and relatively little poof. Deviation from this careful formula, say falling asleep with your wet hair in a messy bun, can (and in this case did) result in an 80’s-licious poof. Instead of fighting with my unruly hair I just kept my outfit simple and gave my hair plenty of room to err grow.

how do you cope with busy Mondays and bad hair days?

17 responses to “Simple Stripes, Big Hair

  1. you look gorgeous, and I’m sure I’ve said this before but I love your hair!!!

    http://myafricancloset.wordpress.com/

  2. Do you buy the expensive Moroccan Oil? I was using a cheaper version, and I don’t think it’s doing me any good. I would totally shell out for something that actually WORKS. And it obvious does, because your hair looks great!

    • Catherine, I use a product similar to Moroccan Oil but the company just stopped making it so I switched to Moroccan Oil (splurge for the bottle with the pump so much easier) and have been happy with the results. I have seriously thick hair that is hella-curly so the oil helps keep the frizz in check and weighs everything down, but my younger sister who has very fine hair says that it’s too heavy for her hair. Ask your hair stylish (if you trust them not to try and push product(s) on you) next time you get a cut.

  3. You are rocking this hair sister! I know how hard it is to tame unruly curls–trust. Whatever you’re doing, keep it up–this looks great!

  4. it can take a long time to find what’s best for your hair! mine took a long time too and i still like experimenting.

    http://www.insparisian.com

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggled with controlling their hair Brooke! I stick to a pretty straightforward formula but every now and again it’s fun to play around with it.

  5. You have great hair!! I discovered a hair serum by a company called KeSARI it is wonderful, literally no friz and not greasy either.

    Ali of

    http://www.dressingken.com

    • Ooh, I’ll have to look into that Ali! Frizz is my biggest enemy, literally any humidity and poof, I look like I’ve been electrocuted.

  6. When I’m having a bad hair day, or don’t feel like doing it, I make it as big and as unruly as possible. 🙂 Yours looks fabulous in this photo!
    Meredith
    createthatoutfit.com

    • Meredith I can’t recall ever seeing a photo of you when you were bad hair day! I usually try to go the messy bun route on bad hair days but my hat kept that from working, haha.

  7. You have the most beautiful hair! The color is stunning. This is probably the most perfect, simple outfit, too.

    • Oh thank you Ashe, my hair is pretty darn bright, too bright sometimes! The best part about this outfit is how comfortable it was. We walked close to 4 miles that day and I was comfy cozy the whole time.

Leave a Reply

