Bookworm Wednesday: Hardcover Lover

My love for books and all things literary started at a young age and comes from my father. Growing up I looked forward to our Saturday morning trips to the library. The librarians knew us by name, made the best book suggestions, and always let me check out more books than was allowed.

Granted I wasn’t checking out books like these…

Wore Out, Vermont Fashion, Books for Fashion Lovers, books for art lovers, hardcover art and fashion books, coffee table books, Diana Vreeland, Rose Cumming, Lady in Gold, Cafe Society, Encyclopedia of the Exquisiteclockwise from upper left: Rose Cumming by Jeffrey Simpson, Lady in Gold by Anne-Marie O’Connor, Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel by Lisa Immordino Vreeland, Encyclopedia of the Exquisite by Jessica Kerwin Jenkins, and Cafe Society by Thierry Coudert

These are just a few of the books I’ve had my eye on lately and it got me thinking that it might be time I start sharing my bibliophile side here on Wore Out, hence the idea of Bookworm Wednesday features. To start I’ll be posting Bookworm features the first and third Wednesday of every month, but as always we’ll see how it goes. 

what books are you reading? what types of book related post would you like to see?

7 responses to “Bookworm Wednesday: Hardcover Lover

  1. Pingback: Bookworm Wednesday: Hardcover Lover | Wore Out | Read Ye, Read Ye | Scoop.it

  2. Right now I’m reading Helter Skelter, about the Manson murders. I dunno if that’s your style, but it’s really great if you like true crime and/or flat-out bizarre phenomena.

    • Skye that was such an interesting time in history. There were so many social movements and groups happening, I would actually like to read more about it. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. In my YA lit class for grad school we just read 13 reasons why, speak and monster. So that covers suicide, rape and murder. And here I was thinking we’d be reading books about magic and witches.

    • Andrea, talk about a ‘heavy’ reading list! I’ve read Speak (in high school and college) but haven’t heard of the other two, I would have expected the topics in a YA lit class to be a bit more light and fluffy!

  4. I’m glad you were able to read Speak in school. It’s currently on the banned book list. Keep in mind the rape in the text is more or less inferred for the entirety of the book, and when it is mentioned, is in no way graphically described. The book instead focuses on her experience of finding her way through her depression because of it–something that could, oh I don’t know, help thousands of high school teenage victims in similar situations. And yet, it is banned….by presumably idiots. (I could go on forever here…) Needless to say, I like book Wednesday.

    • Andrea I am so excited about your passionate comments. I honestly (and naively) thought that a “banned books” were a thing of the past. It boggles the mind that in our day in age we’re still censoring what kids read, while we’re obviously not censoring what kids watch. I remember, quite vividly the impact that reading Speak had on me and the discussions it sparked in the classroom. If anything this book is an example of strength, courage, and resilience and it’s a shame that more people can’t recognize that. Thank you so much for commenting and I’m glad you’re on board with bookworm Wednesdays!

Leave a Reply

