Perfect Print for Fall

Sunnies, Tank, & Necklace: Charlotte Russe, Cardigan: Land’s End (via Savers), Skirt: Downtown Threads, Jessica Simpson Booties: MarshallsAs a maxi skirt this tribal print piece was virtually unwearable. It’s done in a deceivingly heavy fabric so wearing it as maxi skirt was like being rolled up in a stale burrito wrapper (not that I know what that’s actually like, but you get the idea). Enter my wonderful tailor Christine. She removed almost two feet of fabric (which I’m saving for a DIY project) and gave this skirt a whole new life.

I tried to offset the skirt’s bold print by pairing it with classic pieces in camel and navy and simple but chic accessories (like my Jessica Simpson peeptoes). Unfortunately, and I hate to say it, this may be the last time you’ll be peeping my peeptoes (or toes) for quite a while; there’s been talk of snow flurries.

What are you sad to pack away for the season? What pieces are you looking forward to wearing well into winter?

27 responses to “Perfect Print for Fall

  1. Wow look at your beautiful yard!!! I love the fall colors – and how smart was that to turn the skirt into something different! I’m kind of ready to say good bye to warmer weather – and maybe you could keep the peeptoes out longer with some tights?

    • Catherine, I’m ready for the fall weather but I am (and will be) actively protesting the arrival of winter! It’s supposed to be 28 tonight!

  2. Once again….perfection.

    • you are too sweet Dana! I’m already stressing over what to wear to the wedding… something me but Char approved… a tricky formula indeed!

  3. genius idea with cutting off half of this skirt! this outift is absolutely fab for fall! you have beautiful hair!

    thanks for checking out my blog and the sweet comment! i’m a new follower on bloglovin!
    http://www.insparisian.blogspot.com

  4. Oy! I could not imagine that skirt as a maxi – that’s a looooooot of patter! Awesome that you saw it’s potential though! I already practically cried when I packed away my swimsuits the day my pool closed for the year 😦

  5. Wow! She did a great job! This skirt is really cute and I LOLed at the stale burrito comment. These JS peeptoe booties are WAY cute and go perfectly with the rest of your look!

    • Haha glad I’m not the only one who laughs at burrito humor Robin! I’m so glad I found Christine, her father used to make couture gowns so she has an amazing eye when it comes to alterations.

  6. love love loving that printed skirt! such great colors and pattern! xx

    http://www.ladyalamode.com

  7. Wow! Totally amazing skirt! I am in love with the print!

    Rebecca
    http://www.winnipegstyle.ca

  8. We love this! Amazing sunnies too<3

    ox from NYC
    davie+erica

    LPFashionPhilosophy

  9. Love your skirt and shoes! 🙂

  10. I love that you transformed a maxi skirt like that. The result is amazing. I have to agree that the print would be out of control on a maxi, but it works perfectly well on a knee length skirt. Such a lovely fall skirt. 🙂

    And did you say DIY??!! I’m so excited to see what you do with all that extra fabric!

  11. Hey! Thank you very much for your comment 🙂
    This is a great outfit of yours, it’s not only the colours and the print but also the background that totally fits it. This colour scheme compliments you so well as a redhead!

Leave a Reply

