a cold weather clotheshorse

There’s no denying it I’m a clotheshorse. Not only is my closet packed to the gills but I’ve got tubs of clothes under the bed, in the crawlspace, and in the spare bedroom. Why do I need so many clothes you ask? Well, Vermont has four very distinct and different seasons and I need a wardrobe for each… at least this is how I rationalize it. So when Seven Days asked me to put together three winter weather looks the hardest part was narrowing down my choices. Vintage Jacket: Downtown Threads, Scarf: Italy, Knit Dress: Goodwill, Tights: The Sox Market, Boots: Vintage Vintage Coat: Saver’s, Blouse, Belt (not pictured) & Skirt: Goodwill, Tights: The Sox Market, Booties: Old NavyHat: Forever 21, Vest & Flannel: Battery St Jeans, Sweater: Bass, Chambray Shirt: Goodwill, Jeans: Hurley (via Plato’s Closet), Boots: Matt Bernson (via Dear Lucy)

My philosophy on surviving winter in Vermont is pretty simple; layer, layer, layer. In the look above I’m wearing a whopping 6 layers: a tank, long sleeve shirt, chambray button up, sweater, hooded flannel coat, and down vest. Needless to say I was sweating during the shoot but on a chilly day in February I’d be warm and toasty. I don’t let the winter weather rob me of my style and neither should you.

For more winter weather fashion tips and a look at how two other stylish Burlingtonians (and wonderful friends of mine) survive the freezing temps in style make sure to visit Seven Days.

all photo credit belongs to the fabulous Matthew Thorsen 

17 responses to “a cold weather clotheshorse

  1. You can never have too many coats when you live in a cold climate.

    • That’s exactly what I think Becky, the only thing people see in the winter is your coat, so why not switch it up? I have everything from vintage furs to cheap blazers.

  2. i love the last outfit! it’s so new englandy! can’t believe that it’s 6 layers! I also read one of your comments from yesterdays post about having ultra thick hair you only need to wash once a week. welp, add that to the list of growing similarities.

  3. I understand the cold weather layers livi in Chicago and upstate New York. I love that first jacket and the boots in the six layers are fantastic!

  4. I’m so in love with that last look – the layers are perfect! I live in Oklahoma so coat weather is a couple of months away for us. However, I recently bought a bright green coat and I LOVE it. I swear it literally makes me a happier person in the winter – I hate cold weather!

    • Ooh I can’t wait to see your new coat Ashley! I love wearing bright pops of color during the winter, it makes things feel warmer somehow!

  5. Each one of these outfits is perfect. You look so chic. I love how you show that you can be stylish even when it’s cold out.
    Meredith
    createthatoutfit.com

  6. Love the second one! Also, great spread in 7Days.

  7. You have such a cute blog!
    I’m a clotheshorse too… wish I had more reason to wear pretty coats in LA though.

    xo Ashley
    http://www.ashnfashn.com

    • Thanks for visiting Ashely. Unfortunately the cold weather has already arrived here in Vermont, so I’m rocking my coats in full effect already.

  8. You look positively radiant in each of your fashionable pictures! Kudos my dear!

Leave a Reply

