Leaf Peeping in VT

Sunglasses: Zinnia, Scarf: Gift Shop, Jacket: Ann Taylor, Bag: Forever 21,  Flannel: Levi’s (via Goodwill), Leggings: Target, Wellies: Dick’sAfter almost a week straight of rainy days it felt wrong not to get outside and take advantage of an only partly cloudy day so our friend Tim, his dog Boss, D and I drove to Richmond, Vermont and spent the afternoon tromping through the woods along the Winooski River in search of fall foliage.

In the end the best foliage was mostly off in the distance but that didn’t stop us from enjoying our wooded surroundings. I’d forgotten how much I loved the smell of fall and how it clings to your clothes and lingers for a while. It reminded me of the way my clothes would smell after jumping into the piles of leaves my dad would rake when we were kids.

What are your favorite fall activities/memories? 

21 responses to “Leaf Peeping in VT

  1. Beautiful pictures… and love your outfit, so simple and elegant at the same time.

  2. juliewearswellingtons

    I love this time of the year, it’s so good to slip my Wellies on and go for a walk in the woods and wearing Wellies means that my Tights don’t get splashed.
    Lovely pictures, thank you so much for posting.
    Julie
    x

    • I’m glad you were able to find Wore Out Julie. I wear my wellies all spring and for most of the fall, it’s just too muddy and wet to wear anything else.

  3. These pictures make me miss fall so much! beautiful photos!

    xx amy
    Leopard and Lillies

  4. Besides the fact that you look stunning (as usual)…tell me Boss is a GSP (german shorthaired pointer) i will freak out.

    • You are too sweet Andrea! Actually Boss is a bit of a mutt. Our friends were told he was a hound mix, but you can totally see the pointer in him. Do you have a GSP at home?

      • Yes! I do. Named Cooper. I can totally see the pointer in Boss…not to mention ..that’s the best name for a dog.

      • Oh my gosh Andrea could our lives get anymore similar?! Now I’m going to have to facebook stalk you (in a none creepy way) so I can see Cooper! I loved that Tim and Allison named him Boss, I call him Bossanova because he’s such a heart breaker with those big puppy dog eyes.

        PS- is your BF calling for Fitz to be traded yet? Yesterday D followed me around the grocery store despondently mumbling about giving up already… it wasn’t pretty.

  5. Aw we’ve had SNOWY days the past few days and it is now finally in the 70’s. I love your layers today Cait! Those boots are great!

  6. STUNNING photos! Gosh I love fall 🙂 Your outfit is TOO cute and I love your wellies 🙂

    Rachel’s Lookbook

    • Thank you Rachel! I was so excited that it was finally chilly enough to wear my flannel shirts! You can take the girl out of Maine but you can never take the Maine out of the girl!

  7. Oooh that looks so amazing!! I just love Fall stuff! It was chilly here this past weekend, so we built a fire in our fire pit! You look so fabulous! I love your Fall outfit.
    Meredith
    createthatoutfit.com

    • There is definitely a chill in the air in Vermont Meredith! It sounds like you made the best of the chilly weather, I wish we had a fire pit backyard entertaining is second to none!

  8. I pretty much live in wellies this time of year. So comfy. Gosh it is beautiful in Vermont. The leaves are just starting to change here. Every fall I have to go to a corn maze and pumpkin patch. This year I’m also hoping to pick apples for the first time. The thing I probably love most about fall weather is puppy snuggles. They get so cuddly when it’s chilly out. 🙂

    • We are on the same page in terms of fall Erica! I can’t wait to pick our pumpkins this weekend and I’ve been pressuring the BF to take me to the corn maze (it will be my first time!)

  9. Your leaf peeping outfit is SO cute, and love these photos!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  10. I love your layers – these are such beautiful fall pictures!

    XO
    http://www.pearlsandpaws.blogspot.com

  11. i love the color of your hair and the way you did it in such a chic effortless way. My fave updo is the bun and yours is so perfect. Love your outfit from head to toe too, you are so pretty! I’m so sorry that it has taken me so long to comment on your blog~but I’m so glad I did because I love yours too. Thank you so much for the sweet comment you left recently and for following me. New follower!
    xO!
    http://www.thehautecookie.com

    • I am always throwing my hair into a bun too Sooae! It’s just so easy and out of the way. I am in love with the leather skinnies you had on in yesterday’s post! Serious fashion jealousy!

Leave a Reply

