Troublesome Booties

Dollar Store Sunnies, Blazer: Silence + Noise, Tank: Downtown Threads, Skirt: Kohl’s, Ankle Boots: Old Navy

I bought these ankle boots late last winter.  When I tried them on in the store I loved the color, height of the heel and fit. However it was an entirely different story once I got them home…

At first I hunted up photos of other ladies wearing the same booties (and of course loved how they looked in them) but when I would copy the look it always seemed to fall short. Frustrated by numerous failed styling attempts I stowed the booties for the summer, deciding to face them again in the fall with a new perspective.

Well fall is here and it’s back to square one with these booties. It’s do or consign time and while I’m still on the fence about these grey ankle boots  I think this outfit was a step (albeit a baby step) in the right direction.

What pieces have you struggled to style? How do you know when it’s time to consign or sell pieces?

17 responses to “Troublesome Booties

  1. I love the way you’ve styled these booties – I am in love with booties and need to find a pair for fall 🙂

    XO
    http://www.pearlsandpaws.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Heather, I’ve had good luck with Old Navy’s booties (I have a black pair as well) but my friend Joanna just found a gorgeous pair at TJ Maxx.

  2. I think they’re really cute! I’ve gone back and forth about ankle booties like these on me – and I think I might have to try them. I love how feminine your outfit is paired with those booties!

    • This shape is deceptivly hard to style Catherine, they have a western vibe but a heel and I’m not sure about the toe… as you can tell I’m totally on the fence about them still.

  3. Love that skirt! A perfect color and plated it’s always a must! xx

  4. they look great on you! keep them!

    amy
    Leopard and Lillies

  5. I’ve had the same problem with a few booties, they have to be perfect. I think your pair looks cute on you but if they’re hard to style, consign them and look for a new pair! I always keep mine too long and then feel guilty for not getting more use out of them.

    • Who knew booties could be so tricky?! I’m going to give them a few (like two) more chances before I decide their fate. I’ve saved these booties for two season so if they’re not going to work now is the time to sell em!

  6. I really like them. And I think you styled them really well with such a cute girly skirt!
    Meredith
    createthatoutfit.com

  7. I did a huge closet purge this summer and finally got rid of things I think are cute but just can’t style. If I really love something, I’ll hold onto it longer than if it’s just something I wanted to try.

    That being said, I think this is great styling. I love them with that skirt.

    • Doesn’t it feel great to purge your closet Gracey?! Every time I do a closet clean out I always find clothes I’d totally forgotten about… which is probably a sign that I have too many clothes but that’s impossible, right?!

  8. I like the booties. I think they would look nice with some gray skinny pants too.

Leave a Reply

