Nautical Stripes & Boho Hair

Belt/headband: American Apparel, Striped Cardigan & Peep toes: TJ Maxx, Mullet Dress: Old NavyIt’s not often that I let my hair go au natural but every now and again I let my curls do what they want and embrace the outcome. I thought my big hair would lend a bit of boho romance to the olive green mullet dress I can’t get enough of and the newly purchased cardigan I can see myself wearing to death this fall. The asymmetrical cut of the cardigan played off the dress’s high-low hemline better than I could have hoped for and the peeptoes lent just the right amount of polish.

Something about the colors (olive, navy, camel, and oatmeal) and angled/sloping proportions in this outfit reminded me of the beach we camped on at Valcour Island this past weekend. The green of the island’s forest just sort of faded into the grainy beach sand before being swallowed up by the blue of the lake. It wasn’t until looking at these pictures that I was able to really make that connection either. I guess I came away more inspired than I realized.

What experiences have inspired your outfits?

11 responses to “Nautical Stripes & Boho Hair

    • Thanks Amy, they are one of the most comfortable pairs of shoes I own and the heart shape cut outs are just too cute!

  1. You should ALWAYS let your hair be this way. I am so jealous.

  2. Your hair looks great! I love the headband! And your cardigan is super cute–I can’t wait to see it more in the fall! You are so lucky that your hair behaves itself. If I just let my hair go it would take over the world! *Pinky and the Brain reference*

    • I loved your Pinky and the Brain reference Frannie! Left to its own devices my hair grows by the minute, years of product testing later and I’ve finally found the perfect mix of products to tame my mane!

  3. I LOVE your hair like this! So pretty!

    • Thank you so much Lora, I wish I could rock your new cut but I think I would end up look like Ms. Frizzle from the magic school bus!

  4. Well… I’ve to say it again: I love your hair like this 🙂 And your new cardigan is gorgeous!

  5. Your natural hair is excellent –my best influence for what I wear is music lil sister!! :)!

  6. Love it, can’t wait to see what you do next! Come check out my blog, maybe we can follow each other!
    Material Fixations

Leave a Reply

