Peacock on a Dock

Sunglasses: Zinnia, Jacket: TJ Maxx, Bag & Dress: Forever 21 Necklace: Battery St Jeans, Ring: Kohl’s, Belt: Goodwill, Flats: Target

A summer dress in just the right shade of green with a dash of peacock and leopard made for a beautiful morning on the dock at the Lake Champlain Sailing Center.  The mullet style hem made walking feel more like floating and while the wind was perfect for showing off the dress’s movement it wasn’t doing my hair any favors.

Tonight is the annual third of July fireworks display in Burlington and D and I are planning a picnic potluck with a few friends to celebrate. I’ve always found the Fourth of July  incredibly romantic. Something about the heat of the summer, glowing sparklers, and bare feet in green grass just gets me, so I’m excited that we’re keeping things a bit more low-key this year.

How are you planning on celebrating Independence day? What are your favorite Fourth of July traditions?

12 responses to “Peacock on a Dock

  1. Love this dress! You sparkle against the blue water!!! I wanna come visit 🙂

  2. Wow you’re so right about the romantic part! When I first read that I was all like “WTF is she thinking?!?!” But then I read further and I can’t agree more. The heat. It’s sexy.

    • Haha, Aimee! Maybe it’s because I love history that I find the Fourth of July so romantic but the sparklers and picnic blankets under the fireworks really make it one of my favorite days of the year.

  3. Aw you paint a lovely picture of Fourth of July and it makes me sad because there are only like two cities in Colorado that are able to do fireworks this year due to the fires. 😦

    I love the peacock and leopard! A very clever pairing that really works! I also love your pretty green mullet dress!

    • Oh Frannie, my thoughts go out to you all, I can’t imagine what it’s like out there during this time. Know I’ll be thinking of you and send lots of sparkling Fourth of July thought your way.

  4. I love that dress. You photograph so well hon. It’s amazing.

    • Ohh thank you so much Giselle. I just wish the wind would have died down as I would have loved to have my hair down instead of in a mess bun for these photos.

  5. Every year we usually travel to Michigan to visit my in-laws. Unfortunately we had to break that tradition this year because we have a wedding this weekend to attend, and we are at a loss as to what to do tomorrow since our town is on a fireworks ban due to the dry, hot weather. I guess it will be a low-key day!

    • Steffy you’re the second person that I’ve heard from who is facing a firework ban due to the weather. Hopefully the weather is good for the wedding and I promise I’ll post pictures of the Burlington fireworks soon!

  6. huum freshness pics! 🙂 Love the green dress and the necklace! It’s a new tattoo on your feet, or I just don’t have noticed you had one? xx

  7. I love that outfit! The color goes great with your hair 🙂

Leave a Reply

