Showing a Little Lace

Dollar Store Sunnies, Kimono Jacket: Forever 21, Dress: Macy’s, Vintage Slip: Goodwill,   Bag: Rue 21, Rose Ring: Charlotte Russe, Necklace: Downtown Threadskudos to my friend Alicia for snapping this picture while I was flapping around like a bird trying to show off my great kimono style jacketI used to avoid white dresses like the plague. Not only do I have a tendency to wear what I eat but underwear wise they were always a logistical nightmare! Thankfully I’ve since started collecting vintage slips and underthings which have made it much easier for me to enjoy wearing LWDs (little white dresses) all summer long.

I wore this casual ensemble to a friends house for an afternoon BBQ and a stroll along the Winooski River Walk. I love the oversized almost tent like quality  of this dress, making it perfect for BBQ feasting on oppressively hot days. The lace peeking out from under the hem added a fun vintage touch and kept everything g-rated. I know you’re not supposed to let your slip show, but sometimes it feels good to break the rules!

What fashion rules have you been breaking? Are you a fan of LBDs or LWDs?

7 responses to “Showing a Little Lace

  1. You look so gorgeous – like a 1930s movie star! And as for the underwear situation – beige on the darker side that is seamless. Not exactly hot to look at, but works wonders under white pants, skirts, dresses, etc. I love that kimono!!

    • You are too sweet Catherine! I have a light beige pair of panties (such a weird word) but it is usually visible. Now I’ll keep my eyes peeled for a darker color of beige.

  2. Girl you took that fear of LWDs head on wearing one to a BBQ! Nonetheless, you look great! I love the slip peeking out and that kimono is very pretty. Enjoy your weekend Cait!

  3. I love to wear white! And I love your slip peeking out.

    • Thank Steffy, I’m always worried that wearing white will wash me out since I’m so pale but I”m having fun playing around with different looks.

  4. I love everything about this ensemble!

Leave a Reply

