Semi Sheer Skirts

Dollar Store Sunnies, Tank & Skirt: Downtown Threads,  Bangles & Ring: Gifted, Bag: Rue 21, Sandals: Old NavyFor some reason the idea of wearing a sheer maxi skirt with built in shorts seemed far riskier than wearing a sheer chiffon skirt on it’s own. I think it was one of those cases where I worry about something that isn’t very noticeable or newsworthy to anyone else but seems glaringly awkward to me. In the end I thought the knotted shirt and bright bag were the perfect counterweights and I’m already looking forward to wearing this skirt out again.

How have you been styling sheer pieces this summer?

20 responses to “Semi Sheer Skirts

  1. Hi,
    Would you please give me the addresses for Downtown Threads, Clothes Exchange? Possibility Shop is at the Congo Church; what are the days, hours? My daughters are visiting next week; they’ve been following “Wore Out”, too. Thanks.

    • Hi Nancy, Downtown Threads is located on Church Street in the center of downtown Burlington. they are upstairs above Ken’s Pizza at 73 Church Street. Unfortunately the Clothes exchange only happens once a year, but you should also stop by the Clothes Exchange on Cherry Street (across from Rite Aid) off of Church Street. Enjoy your trip to Burlington with your daughters and let me know what you find!

  2. I could see how it would seem a little risky, but it looks great! I love that skirt!

    • Thanks Frannie! I think I was initially scared because it reminds me of the skorts my mom made me wear as a child.

  3. Me loves! So simple but stunning. I love that the whole thing is neutral but your purse and wild sexpot hair.

  4. Sheer skirt with built in shorts…ingenious!! Great idea of balancing it with the bag and tied top…great casual look, but the sheer adds some dressiness!!

    • Haha I wish I could take the credit for the built in shorts, but really they just came that way. I was a bit worried because I used to wear skorts a lot a a little girl and I didn’t’ want to regress fashion wise!

  5. Caitlin: this look is perfect! I adore the sheer skirt, the top and that knot detail and your bracelets and rings… even your hair style is perfect for the outfit! Really, reaaaaallllyyy well done!

    • Oh thank you Aletheia, I was seriously on the fence about the shorts skirt combo at first but the more I wear it the more I like it. What do you think about a sheer top with this skirt?

      • Oh I think it would fit perfectly for a fancy look, to go out for dinner in this summer nights. I can imagine it with this same hair style and a silver or gold flat sandals, it would be perfect, too! 🙂

      • Love the idea of adding metallic sandals to give it a night time feel Aletheia, you’re the best!

  6. I like the shorts under the sheer skirt. I think it especially works because the skirt isn’t too terribly sheer. It’s a really great look.

    • Thanks Gracey! I’m still warming up to the whole sheer skort situation but I think the more I wear it the more comfortable I’ll be in it and styling it!

  7. I like the yellow bag. Usually I don’t wear sheer pieces, but that’s just because they don’t work for my office.

    • Rebecca, my office is pretty relaxed about the dress code but I don’t think I could get away with wearing this skirt. It’s more of a weekend/night out piece!

  8. Oh my, this is such a perfect summer look! I love how you tied your print top over this sheer skirt, it just looks so effortless and breezey! Sheer seems so perfect for summer time, I think you really nailed it by pairing this beautiful skirt with the sandels and the printed top. (I saw a girl at the store a few days ago wearing a skirt like this, but her’s was competely sheer with these little booty shorts under it and then she was wearing just her bra as a top!)

    • Thank you so much Katie! I was so excited when I found your blog yesterday and spent an hour or two flipping through your older outfit posts. I can’t wait to see your fall/winter looks since I’m always looking for cold weather styling tips!

  9. I have been dying to check out Downtown Threads since I moved to the area. The items you post from there are always so awesome 🙂

    • Jaimie now that you’re in Burlington let me know when you’re heading to Downtown Threads and maybe we can meet up and do a little shopping together! I would love it! Either way the next time you’re at Downtown threads tell James (the owner) that I sent you!

Leave a Reply

