Hot in Burlington

Sunglasses: Charlotte Russe, Blouse: H&M (via The Clothes Exchange), Belt: Goodwill, Skirt: Kohl’s, Snakeskin Heels: Target, Ring: GILT, Assorted BanglesTrying to look cool, crisp, and collected when you’re sweating like Nixon during the 1960’s presidential debates is close to impossible. Luckily I had the foresight to snap these pictures before my walk home… how it was still in the 90’s at 6:30pm is beyond me.

For days when the heat in Burlington is oppressive and I feel like I’m melting a la Alex Mack style I stick with light colors, fluttery fabrics, and simple silhouettes. I don’t like anything close to clingy when it’s this warm so a linen blouse and light weight skirt were perfect and breezy.

How do you stay cool and fresh in the summer heat?

11 responses to “Hot in Burlington

  1. YESSS alex mack reference!!!

    • Thank you so much for picking up on my old school Nick references Andrea! I used to love Alex Mack and Ghost Writer!

  2. Beautiful! Love this outfit! Hah! Sweatin’ like Nixon! 😉

    • Can you tell I’m a total history nerd Amanda?! I remember watching clips of the debate and thinking how sweaty and creepy Nixon looked, haha!

  3. You had me at Alex Mack. God I miss old school Nickelodeon.

    Such a flattering outfit on you! I love how this looks ladylike and comfortable at the same time. And the heat SUCKS. We aren’t supposed to have to deal with this until August, right?!

    • We should petition Nickelodeon to bring the show back! Maybe I’ll do an Alex Mack themed outfit post… though if I remember correctly she always wore baseball hats… hum

  4. i think shelby woo was the stylish one

  5. OMG Alex Mack??? LOL!!! I love your skirt so much Cait! Pretty pleats and soft color! Stay cool sister!

  6. Oh, such a lovely outfit! Love the skirt and the shoes… so elegant!

  7. Oh, I love everything about this outfit! It’s so classic and sophisticated. The pleated skirt is beautiful and that neutral color would go with just about everything! And the snakeskin heels are a great touch!

    Callie
    http://www.coffeeandcardigans.com

  8. Ahh that skirt is amazing and I want it! Haha love this whole outfit actually, so pretty 🙂

    Life Etc

Leave a Reply

