Precipitation may Vary

Sometimes all it takes to turn a rainy, hectic day around is a great lunch date.

This is exactly what happened when my friend Nicole and I caught up over lunch at Magnolia Bistro. After a heaping plate of Huevos Con Diablo (my favorite) and lots of laughter I managed to talk Nicole into photographing and guest staring in another lunch date outfit post!

The last time Nicole appeared in a Wore Out outfit post it was snowing, so it seemed fitting that when we met for lunch this week it poured rain. On Nicole:  Cardigan, Dress, & Flats: Target, Necklace: Lia Sophia.

I love the navy and mustard color combination Nicole is wearing. Both  colors are bright and bold while being somewhat neutral striking a complimentary balance. Nicole’s outfit is effortlessly chic and perfect for transitioning from a day at the office to post work drinks with the girls.

Trench Coat: Forever 21, Shirt Dress: The Clothes Exchange Pop-up Shop, Belt (taken from H&M tunic), Speckled Ring: Kohl’s, Wellies: Dick’s, Earrings: Savannah, GA

When I found this pinstriped shirt dress at The Clothes Exchange I somewhat confused. There were two, belt sized holes through either side of the dress but no belt. After trying various techniques I decided my best option was to put the middle of the belt around my back and feed the ends of the belt through the dress, crossing them in front and tying them in bow. I ended up liking the gathered look that resulted but plan on experimenting more with other belt/ruching options. Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated!

What new colors and/or pieces are you experimenting with this spring?

7 responses to “Precipitation may Vary

  1. juliewearswellingtons

    Ha ha fun pics, you look really adorable wearing your Wellies,great for the rain.
    Julie
    xx

    • Thank you Julie! I love these wellies. The solid black makes them versatile and they are so comfortable. Perfect for the rainy spring weather that’s typical in Burlington, VT.

      • juliewearswellingtons

        That’s so good to read, I love my wellies too and sometimes wear them on a sunny day with Jeansshorts and Tights and as you say, they are so comfortable.
        Julie
        xx

  2. I think the dress and belt look great like this! Great shirtdress Cait!

  3. I think your dress turned out incredibly flattering the way you have it. I also think it would look cute gathered in the back. Great outfit!

  4. Pingback: Ladies who Lunch in Burlington – Part II | Wore Out

  5. Pingback: End of the World Lunch Date | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

