A Leopard in the Park

Dollar Store Sunnies, Leather Skirt & Silk Blouse: Downtown Threads, Gifted Necklace, Dollhouse Pumps: TJ Maxx, Ring: Montreal St VendorThis outfit looked better in my head than in real life. A trial run per say. I don’t think I’d mix the olive leather pencil skirt and leopard blouse again. The fabrics weighed each other down more than I expected. I think if I had worn a different skirt, maybe this mustard pencil skirt,  it would have given this look a brighter, more springy feel.

What spring time brights have you been playing with lately? 

22 responses to “A Leopard in the Park

  1. I think the outfit look marvelous. Yes, the colors may be darker, but they go well together. I can’t wait to see that shirt with the mustard skirt, though. Also, I think the shoes bring out the natural hues of the outfit. As always, classic and beautiful.

    • You are just too sweet Aimee! I think the real reason I’m underwhelmed with this look is because my hair isn’t done so I feel a bit frumpy. I am going to give the mustard and leopard combo a try soon so stay tuned!

  2. THIS is a GREAT outfit!

    • Thank you Stephanie, I got out in our garden this weekend after being inspired by all of your green-thumb posts!

  3. Really? I totally like this outfit and I think the skirt and blouse were a winning combo!

  4. So elegant! Love that olive tones… ❤

  5. I absolutely love the skirt and blouse together! I love Olive green with leopard print 🙂

    • I was worried the olive and leopard were too dark together Natasha but I’m starting to rethink my aversion after the comments this post has been receiving.

  6. The skirt is beyond perfect. I love the color because of its versatility.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

    • You’re so right Bonnie, this skirt is one of my fall wardrobe staples. It’s great for classing up a casual outfit and vis versa.

  7. such a lovely combo! it’s a classic outfit with a bit of fun 🙂

    xxx
    http://www.ladyalamode.com

  8. I think the leopard paired with the olive skirt is a great combination! They work like neutrals together so it totally works!

    -Sharon

    • It’s so funny you said that about the leopard acting like a neutral Sharon, I just read a piece that quoted Joe Zee as saying that he considers animal prints neutrals.

  9. I know you say it’s heavy, but I kind of like the toned-down nature of this outfit. And just read your comment above – animal prints as neutrals?! That’s such an interesting concept. I guess I can sort of understand – but I don’t think I’d use them as liberally as I do neutrals.

    I’m obsessed with olive green (actually just did a post professing my love to it), so I would pair it with anything.

    You are really really pretty. I adore the color of your hair, and you have such a natural beauty that makes the clothes look that much better!

    Clever blog name, too:)

    -Gabrielle

    • Thank you so much for your sweet comments Gabrielle. It too me a while to get used to wearing animal prints as neutrals but now I’m having a lot of fun with it. I’m with you when it comes to olive green, it’s one of my favorite neutrals!

  10. This outfit is a ton of fabulousness! Leopard, olive leather and thoes great pumps…Love it!!!

    • Haha I’m so glad you like it! I was a bit uncertain about the combo at first but I’m learning to like it more slowly.

  11. My favorite part of this outfit is your shoes. I think they look amazing with your hair. I love a pop of color with any outfit that is neutral/darker.

    • Thank you Caroline! Those dollhouse pumps are one my favorite pairs of heels, they are so comfortable ad I love the slightly rounded toe!

  12. This is a really lovely outfit, and you look lovely in it! Your complexion really complements the olive and leopard (pretend that’s a color) tones, too. : ) I’m pleased I stumbled across this, because I bought an olive-brown pencil skirt that looks a LOT like this and have been really unsure about how to style it. Your look gives me hope that I can!

    • I’m so glad I could help! I love my leather pencil skirt, it creates a polished silhouette without being too corporate, the perfect mix.

Leave a Reply

