Concrete Perch

Sunnies: Dollar Store, Leaf Print Tank: Downtown Threads (last seen here), Belt & Black and Silver Bracelet: Forever 21, Skirt: Thrift Shop in Maine, Heels: Target, Blue Beaded Bracelet: Gifted, Ring: Vending MachineBright and sunny Mondays always make the start of the work week a bit easier (or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.) I’m finally feeling better and after spending close to a week on my couch in my pajamas it felt good to do my hair, put on heels, and bust out a few bright and bold pieces.

I found this skirt at a small charity shop in my hometown for 75 cents and after wearing it half a dozen times I’m considering having it shortened so that is falls just above the knee. I’m hoping taking a few inches off the bottom of the skirt will leave me with a more streamlined, pencil skirt like shape. I love having thrifted pieces altered because not only do I end up with exactly what I want but I still save money, even after having pieces tailored.

How often do you have pieces tailored? 

14 responses to “Concrete Perch

  1. Lovely outfit! The leaf print and the electric blue look amazing together! xx

    • Thanks Aletheia! I was a little worried the blue and orange would clash but I’m liking the bold on bold look.

  2. The print of that top is fabulous…I love how you paired with that blue skirt, it is one of my favorite spring shades! Glad you are feeling better!

    • Thanks lady! I’m new to wearing orange so I wasn’t sure how it would look with the bright blue, but I like how it turned out.

  3. I need to find a good tailor in Boston or Cambridge! What a great outfit, that skirt is killer. Thanks for “liking” Photohogger on FB 🙂

    • Thanks for finding your way back to Wore Out! I found my tailor (the best tailor ever!) via front porch forum, so keep your eyes open.

  4. Gorgeous color combo!
    (I love that shade of blue on red heads!)
    Being only 5 foot, I alter just about everything. But I actually think the length of this skirt is very sophisticated on you.
    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog!

  5. I think the skirt would look great at a pencil length but I don’t mind it the length it is now – you look so tall! The orange and blue is amazing together. Seriously, wear this combo more often!

    • If this skirt’s length makes me look tall I’m keeping it the way it is! I’m a foot shorter than the BF so any extra height I can get is appreciated!

  6. I love the contrast of the blue and orange – this looks great! I frequently tailor things…since I sew, it’s free for me! Thank you for taking a moment to stop by and say hello. 😉

    • I’m so jealous Mary Ann, I wish I knew how to sew! Not only would it save me money but it would make DIYs so much easier. Maybe that’s a good goal to set for myself this summer!

  7. I know the post is alittle late, but that is the most beautiful skirt. Very classy.

  8. Pingback: Vintage Clothing and Fashion Accessories|Downtown Threads » A Happy & Practical Halloween

Leave a Reply

