Jeans, Unicorns, and my new Love of Stripes

Sunglasses: Dollar Store, Blazer (from suit set): Talbots (via Goodwill) Beaded Necklace: DIY, Tee & Jeans: H&M,Watch: Yard Sale in Maine Belt & Rose Necklace: Forever 21, Heels: Nine West via TJ MaxxI don’t know what’s more elusive, unicorns or the perfect pair of jeans.

I have a love hate relationship with these pants. I love the wash and rise but the length is where I struggle. They’re too long to wear with flats but too short to wear with most of my heels. Luckily I managed to dig out these tortoise shell kitten heels (one of the first pairs of heels that I ever purchased!) and they were the perfect height. The elongated pointy toe barely peaks out from under the dark denim and I like how the tortoise shell looked paired with my striped tee.

I’m not sure what prompted my new love of stripes (see here, here, & here) but I’ve had a lot of fun mixing them into my wardrobe. I found stripes to be easy to mix and match with other patterns especially florals and brights. In this case I loved how my striped tee popped when paired with the bright green blazer. It added the perfect punch of color and the cut of the jacket worked with the rise of the jeans to create a flattering silhouette.

Do you struggle when it comes to styling a certain style/pair of jeans? What patterns/prints have you been mixing into your spring wardrobe?

9 responses to “Jeans, Unicorns, and my new Love of Stripes

  1. the kitten heels were a good solution!
    work-it-blog.blogspot.com

  2. Love this blazer and especially with the stripes Cait! Have a great weekend!

  3. Stripes are godly. I’m not even kidding, one in three tops I own has stripes.

  4. Well, no I know I’m not the only one with «jeans + shoes» styling problems! haha I’ve two pairs that I simply can’t use it… I’m always waiting for summer shoes, but in summer I almost don’t wear jeans… weird!

    • Aletheia, I have a ton of jean/shoe styling problems! The length is something I agonize over especially when it comes to heels and flare/bootcut jeans.

  5. Hi dear Cait! I posted about this subject we’re talking here and mentioned your blog, hope you don’t mind. If there’s any problem, please let me know. I was looking for your blog email contact to ask your permission, but don’t found it!
    xx

  6. You can’t go wrong with nautical stripes! Love the whole outfit!

Leave a Reply

