Col. Mustard joins the Navy

Scarf & Blazer: Saver’s, Belt, Rose Ring, & Gold Bangle: Charlotte Russe, Striped Tee: H&M, Blue Beaded & Orange Bracelet: Florence, Italy, Skirt: Downtown Threads, Tights: Sox Market, Oxfords: TargetPairing navy & gold together has always worried me because for some reason that color combination instantly brings to mind hideous, polyester, marching band uniforms. Tassels and batons aside I really liked this outfit, it felt like something Col. Mustard would wear if he were a) fashionable, or b) to go on a Navy expedition, so of course I loved it.

While there’s a lot going on in this look (stripes and prints, mixing black & brown, three different shades of blue) it feels like a simple outfit becuase of the clean silhouette and easy to wear pieces.

What new color combinations have you been experimenting with?

19 responses to “Col. Mustard joins the Navy

  1. Oh my gosh. This might be my favorite outfit of yours EVER. Those colors sing, they are so good together, and the way you accessorized it is perfection. Crap, now I really want a mustard skirt!

    • You are too sweet Catherine! The skirt has been one of my favorite pieces from Downtown Threads (it was con-signed by one of the managers) and it’s cost-per-wear is down to pennies at this point.

  2. I LOVE this one! Seriously…..love!

    • Thank you Dana! Just wait till you see what gems I’ve got planned for J & M’s wedding this fall, Charlotte is going to be scared!

  3. This is the most epic ensemble yet… bravo! I love navy and mustard…And your choice of accessories balances out the ‘menswear’ feel of the whole look!

    • Coming from you Caro that’s high praise! I’m so glad you like it, I was worried there was too much going on with all the different shades of blue. I couldn’t have done it without your killer skirt!

  4. Come now. You got the eye for composition. I say, why not be daring. Life is too short!

  5. Oooohh, I love this! Can’t go wrong with stripes and mustard!

    • I wear this striped shirt way more than I care to admit Stephanie, it’s one of my favorites and works with everything! Hope the spring weather has reached your coast by now!

  6. Love this outfit! Cool idea to mix the mustard with the nautical!
    http://work-it-blog.blogspot.com/

  7. Col. Mustard in the alley with the scarf – NAILED IT!

  8. Very lovely outfit!

  9. I’ve been trying to recreate this look for months. I just can’t find the right personal twist. I love this look. Navy, and mustard are just the perfect couple. Great blog.

  10. Pingback: Jeans, Unicorns, and my new Love of Stripes | Wore Out

  11. Pingback: A Leopard in the Park | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

