Masking it, forcing it, and why authenticity is always the best policy

As someone with an extremely expressive face I’ve learned how to mask or “tone-down” my reactions and emotions. I have a mask of calm understanding that I slip on when I want to fly off the handle but can’t. I have a mask that projects an almost aloof level of nonchalant-ness that is perfect for public transit, and of course there’s my charming smile mask best worn during forced/required social interactions when people who get under your skin and make it crawl are unavoidable.

The only flaw with my emotional masks is that they don’t work on anyone who really knows me. This is especially true in regards to my sisters and D. Not only can they tell when I’m being genuine but they don’t hesitate to point it out when I’m not; and there’s no point trying to fake or force something only to be called out on it.

Gingham Top: Goodwill, Belt: Possibilities Shop, Shorts: Old Navy, Bracelet: Gifted, Tights: Target, Heels: Naughty Monkey via Stella Mae

With that sentiment in mind I’m going to tell you something you probably already know, I’m forcing it in this picture and doing a horrible job of hiding it. I took four pictures of this outfit and when I reviewed them it became startlingly clear that no mask could hide how much I wasn’t feeling it. I had a whole list of irrational and ridiculous reasons why I felt it was necessary to force myself to take outfit pictures and in the end they were exactly that, irrational and ridiculous. The photos sucked and I felt worse after taking them.

When I started Wore Out I jumped right in, posting 5 -6 times a week and I kept up that pace for my first full year of blogging. When D asked me why I felt the need to post so often I cited my desire to “keep up with the Jones’s,” to stay relevant. Then I started to think about the blogs/bloggers I follow and look up to, and it dawned on me that I didn’t like them because they posted everyday. I like them becuase they were real, authentic, and genuinely excited to share their voice, and their content reflected this!

It was truly a light bulb moment for me, so after a year of almost daily blogging I’m taking a step back to avoid blogger burnout (and more terrible outfit photos). I’m giving myself the opportunity to review/reassess what I want to post and how often. I want Wore Out and my content to genuinely reflect who I am and what I’m passionate about. So while I may be posting less, I’ll actually be sharing more.

How often do you post? What tips/tricks have you learned to avoid blogger burnout? How do you keep your content real and relevant?

9 responses to “Masking it, forcing it, and why authenticity is always the best policy

  1. Love the sentiment of this blog:). When I just started, which was just last december, I aimed for once a week. I did this because I knew I wouldn’t go to goodwill everyday, maybe once a week. And I knew it wouldn’t be too much to handle. Since then there have been two times where I have gone two weeks, but it is just because, like you, I don’t want to force it, or not be real, or not enjoy it. Because, isn’t that what blogging is about? Enjoying it, and being real:). Good luck in your new goal of ‘less but more’…I will be waiting for outfit inspiration whenever you are ready!

    PS, At risk of making this comment too long, one more thing, my sister also blogs (misfit runner.wordpress.com) and she had gotten up to two, sometimes three times- a day! She about a month ago took your same outlook and realized she didn’t have to do that, and could do less, about 2-3 times a week now, and still enjoy it!

  2. Also- I actually think its a great pic!

  3. Caitlin I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate this post. You’re my fearless leader and I’ve felt burned out for a little while now, I don’t know how you’ve done it for a year! I can’t wait for our drink date so we can motivate each other. I’ve been thinking about cutting back my posts as well because I’m getting blogger burnout now. As always, don’t be surprised if you see a blog post of mine that is similar to this one…
    Love you girl!

  4. Totally been there. A bloggers gotta do what a bloggers gotta do… And a blogger is a real person, with a real life and deserves to take time to reassess and and be discerning about what gets posted. I have thoroughly enjoyed your daily postings, thank you.

  5. I *love* this post for its honesty – you’re right and you’re not alone! Too often I compare myself with bloggers who 1. have been around longer 2. are (I think) much prettier than me and 3. have more time to post because blogging is their job. I loved this post so much – I’m going to be referring to it on my “down days”. Thank you for sharing!

  6. I know exactly what you mean- I’ve definitely been where you are now. It’s great that you’re able to consider the situation so clearly. I think this is an inevitable stage in the lifespan of any blog and your attitude of quality>quantity is a mature one. Thanks for keeping it real here.

  7. SO SO TRUE! You definitely don’t need to post every day to be relevant. If people are following your blog, they follow it because they like the content not because you post everyday. It’s more important to be true to yourself, and what you love. I love your blog, and I definitely don’t care if you post everyday, or even a certain amount of times per week.

    But, just for the record, I really like that outfit! : )

  8. I love your posts, and it won’t bother me if you post less, or more! I couldn’t avoid blogger burnout and I quit maintaining mine. Sad too, I liked it. Maybe I should try again, but not try so hard. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. Great post and this outfit is super cute!

Leave a Reply

