Poncho de León

Sunglasses & Ring: Downtown Threads, Scarf: Gift Shop, Jacket: Etsy Top/Poncho: Goodwill, Necklace: Market in Naussa, Leggings: Target Bag & Socks: Urban Outfitters, Boots: FlorenceYesterday was unbelievably beautiful in Burlington. After getting a jump on some spring cleaning D and I spent the afternoon walking along the Burlington bike path and then to Leddy Beach. The weather was perfect and it felt great to be outside in the sun, so forgive me for unplugging for most of the weekend.

On Friday I talked about how the adventure and excitement of vacation left me craving the comfort of casual basics and wardrobe staples and clearly I’m not out of that phase yet. I bought this knit top at Goodwill Saturday morning and obviously couldn’t wait to wear it. It’s like traditional ponchos but slimmer and with regular sleeves, making it easier to wear under jackets or with layers.

To break up all the black and tan I added a chunky necklace that I picked up at the straw market in Nassau, Bahamas. It never ceases to amaze me how much a statement necklace adds to an overall look. The purple and bone colored carvings lightened up the look and worked well to pick up the purple highlights my UO bucket bag (another purchase I made over the weekend).

Were you able to do any shopping this weekend? What’s your go to piece when it comes to statement jewelry?

19 responses to “Poncho de León

  1. I absolutely love your elephant necklace so much Cait! I love elephants. They are my favorite animal and I collect them in jewelry whenever I can.

    • I love elephants too Frannie, they’re such wise old creatures. I’ll keep my eyes out for elephant pieces for you. There’s a great store in Burlington called Trade Winds and sometimes they get great elephant pieces.

  2. I love the necklace and your socks/boots combination is beautiful!

    • Thank you Jessica! I spent almost a half an hour haggling with the vendor in the straw market over the price. It’s handmade and got it for a steal!

  3. Your ring jumped out of the page at me. So great. I am a big fan of comfortable/glamorous outfits. This one definitely fits that description. Your hair looks lovely in a bun.

    • I love this bar ring too Tracy! It’s one of my favorite Downtown Threads buys (and that’s saying a lot since I shop there on a weekly basis)!

  4. love the geometric print on your top
    love your scenery in the photo as well!
    brett

  5. Love the ruffle detail and the delicate buttons on that jacket. So jealous you live close to a beautiful area.

    • I’m still jealous of your ladies book club Steffy! We are lucky to live in Burlington, there are a ton of hidden beaches and parks.

  6. This! This is how I wish when I was dressed for a casual walk on the beach. Let me please tell you that it is not how I look, as these pictures can best be described as “chic, comfortable, flattering, unique” and my usual beach-walk look is best described as “windblown, chapped, and awkwardly shod.” So well played!

  7. That top is a great find! So flattering and fun. You look great.

  8. That necklace is amazing… Great casual out fit styling with that fun tunic!

  9. love the necklace and the ruffle detail on the jacket. this is a great comfy casual outfit

    • Thanks lady! This vintage raincoat is one of my favorite pieces, the leopard lining and ruffle detail are just too perfect.

  10. Love the necklace!! My statement piece are watches and rings! I seriously can’t have enough.

    xo everything-pretty.com

    • Rings are one of my favorite statement pieces too. I’m slowly building my collection of watches, I’m in the market for a fun digital watch to time my runs. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

