Beachy Blues

I don’t know about you but I’m loving the mild “winter” we’ve had so far. D and I have been taking full advantage of the sunny weather and snapped these pictures during a stroll on Leddy Beach in Burlington this past weekend. During the flooding last spring a lot of Leddy Beach was destroyed so it was exciting to see the beach and shoreline back to their natural beauty lass than one year later.

Gingham has been popping up everywhere this spring and is great for pattern mixing so when I found this shirt for $4 I had to have it. Like a lot of my favorite button ups this gingham shirt is from the men’s section at Goodwill. I like wearing larger/looser button ups because the size gives them greater versatility. A long button up can be worn over leggings, under dresses and sweaters or even with sandals and a belt for as sexy mini dress.

To avoid looking bulky in your over-sized button up add a belt or cropped top/jacket that hits the narrowest part of your body to draw the eye in and define your shape. I was going for a more tailored look with this outfit so I layered my gingham shirt under my blazer belted it for a more streamlined silhouette.

Have you added any Gingham pieces to your spring wardrobe? Would you ever wear men’s clothes?

15 responses to “Beachy Blues

  1. I include menswear in some of my outfits at times. I’m a lover of large woven button-up Ralph Lauren shirts with leggings and cinching the waist with a belt. Instant awesomeness.

    • Glad I’m not the only one who likes to cross-dress Aimee! I’ll keep my eyes out of Ralph Lauren shirts for you lady!

  2. That is SUCH a good idea to shop in the men’s section! I would never have thought of that. I think that shirt looks fabulous on you. This is also a great outfit that shows how you can wear a spring look (gingham) when it’s still cold!

    I have to say, I’ve missed the snow. But now that it’s later in February, I’m over the cold completely. Bring on spring!

    • Believe it or not Catherine I shop the women’s section last when I’m thrifting. I usually start in the men’s shirt section and then cruise through the kids section (the benefit of not having boobies is that I wear the same size shirts as a 14 year old boy). Some of my greatest finds have been in these two departments.

  3. I love gingham and I love finding deals and thrifting. All in all, an outfit that I love!

    • Thank Frannie! I’m praying to my thrifting gods to send me a gingham dress. Every time I go thrifting I have high hopes!

  4. LOVE the layers and especially the gingham shirt!

    xxx
    http://www.ladyalamode.com

  5. You are sparkling on the beach!

  6. super cute, love all of the layers!

  7. This photo spot is so beautiful and I love your shirt and all your layers. You look so warm and put together! And I’m totally loving the mild winter. I’d take this every year!

  8. Holy cute. You always top the cutest outfits with the even cuter ones. I love everything about this look.

  9. Cute shirt. You wouldn’t know it was a men’s shirt ‘cept for the cuffs. Love the big cuffs. Looks good on you.

  10. May I have your shirt please? LOL! I have been looking for a good gingham plaid shirt and my goodwill FOREVER. I just can’t seem to find one. *sigh* I’ll keep searching!

Leave a Reply

