Making Marc Mine

Belt (worn as hair tie): American Apparel, Sunglasses: Dollar Tree, Cardigan: Downtown Threads, Dress: Marc Jacobs via Second Time Around, Necklace & Belt: Forever 21, Tights: Target, Bracelet & Boots: Italy Ring: Charlotte RuseIt seems fitting that I’m wearing sunglasses from the dollar store, cowboy boots from my time in Italy and my favorite vintage cardigan with my new (to me) Marc Jacobs dress. I’ve always enjoyed mixing fast & high fashion finds with vintage & thrifted pieces to create a look and wardrobe uniquely my own and I think this outfit really captures that. And while I’ve never considered myself “brand obsessed” I can’t help but be excited that hanging in my closet between my favorite $10 dress from Old Navy and the banana yellow caftan I found at Goodwill is this pretty little dress, my very first Marc.

What recent purchases has you giddy? How would you describe your style?

8 responses to “Making Marc Mine

  1. Omg omg omg. You found a Marc Jacobs dress?!?! Holy crap. Thrifting gold right there! And even better – it looks wonderful on you! This might be one of my favorite outfits of yours ever, and not just because that dress is Marc Jacobs. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you share my excitement Catherine! I found it at a higher end consignment shop in Burlington and as luck would have it the day I found it was their half off sale, so I literally got it for a song. I am obsessed with it!

  2. Oh yay Cait! What a great find! I love this dress–the color and the fit are perfect on you! I am not a label person either, but for some of the labels (Marc Jacobs for one), I can always make an exception!

  3. That dress is beautiful. It looks amazing on you! And I’m the same way, I love mixing two dollar items with high end. It keeps your outfit fresh and not “Ohhh look! I’m rich!” look or something along those lines. Also I’m so in love with your hair.

    And I agree, the AA maxi skirt is so hard to wear. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong because my friend wears it like nobody’s business.

    • Jessica, I am so glad I’m not the only one struggling to style that AA Maxi skirt! On other people it looks so effortless and when I’ve tried to style it I’ve just struck out!

  4. I totally agree about mixing vintage with newer “fashion” finds. I think it makes the outfit more me when I do that! Today I stopped over at our local Salvation army and ended up walking out with two amazing pairs of shoes that didn’t even look worn, I’m still giddy over them!

    • I’m jealous Kate, I have the worst luck when it comes to thrifting shoes. There’s a salvation army right around the corner from my house so I’ll have to start dropping in more often!

Leave a Reply

