Wetsuits & Tubeworms

Sweater: Burton (via the annual warehouse sale), Ring: Downtown Threads,  Belt & Faux Leather Leggings: Forever 21, Boots: Old Navy (via Plato’s), Lipstick: Revlon Snowsilver RoseWhen I bought this sweater I had no idea the over-sized cowl neck could be unzipped into a tubeworm-esque hood. It took me a while to embrace this new shape (hooded cowls can be intimidating people!) but I’m really starting to love the soft almost romantic silhouette that it creates.

How I felt about my leggings wasn’t so romantic. These faux leather leggings would be great as tights but as leggings they’re not so hot. After wearing them all day these leggings started to remind me of the killer whale trainer barbie (KWTB) that my younger sister had when we were young. When KWTB’s legs got wet her bathing suit turned into a full wetsuit, covering her legs with this slightly tacky black coating that magically disappeared as she dried off. However they were $15, so in this case I got exactly what I paid for; wetsuit legs.

What items in your wardrobe have been surprising wins or loses?*

*I am in no way implying that these leggings were a surprising loss

13 responses to “Wetsuits & Tubeworms

  1. LOVE that cozy looking sweater and those shoes!

    xxx
    http://www.ladyalamode.com

    • Thanks Caitie! Believe it or not I got those ankle boots from Plato’s Closet for $9! I’m looking forward to pairing them with cute sun dresses this spring!

  2. that sweater is seriously, gorgeous! I’m a sucker for cowl necks! http://www.casualglamorous.com

    • Thank you Audrey! I bought it at the annual Burton warehouse sale for $15 a few years ago. I’ve loved it ever since. Thank you so much for stopping by Wore Out!

  3. Love the juxtaposition of the leggings and the chunky knit!! That sweater looks so cozy…

    • This sweater is beyond cozy and I love how versatile the collar is, you can do a sexy off the shoulder look or unzip the hood for a more tubeworm like feel!

  4. I love your sweater! I have the same wet suit problem with my pleather leggings as well. Usually, I just have to grin and bear it.

    • Frannie I’m so glad I’m not the only one dealing with wetsuit issues. I think I’ve relegated my wetsuit leggings to tights duty for the time being.

  5. I was a little worried about what I might see when I saw your blog title! 🙂 Love that sweater – I got a cowlneck sweater in that exact color a week ago and can’t wait to wear it. It’s so versatile – the color would look great with everything!

  6. THAT SWEATER!!!!! And the photos with it as a hoodie? Gorgeous. You look so beautiful.

    xoxoxo

  7. What fabulous sweater! I love that hood!

    See Me Rwar

    • Thanks Vanesa, it was an impulse purchase at the register a few years ago and I’ve been loving it since! Thank you so much for stopping by Wore Out!

Leave a Reply

