An Unexpected Outfit Post

The sun came out over Lake Champlain for a few precious moments yesterday afternoon creating a truly stunning scene. My favorite college professor once referred to these rays of light as “sun-dogs,” just saying it makes me smile.

Glasses: Eyefly, Necklace: Arizona, Cardigan/Wrap: Charlotte Ruse, Skinny Belt: Forever 21, Top: ?, Jeans: Hurley, Ruffle Flats: Target, Bracelets: Gifted, Lipstick: Revlon Strawberry Suede I wasn’t planning on taking outfit photos yesterday (my outfit was planned around my insane work day, not my fav fashions) but with at least half a dozen people snapping photos of the sun-dogs as well I figured it wouldn’t be hard to have someone snap a few of me. I took a chance and asked a much more stylishly dressed lady, she graciously agreed and after giving her my card (to prove I wasn’t a total loon) she took these.

I’m not wearing my “real” shoes (I left those under my desk so they wouldn’t get muddy) and I don’t like how wide my belted wrap makes me look but I decided to share these pictures with you anyway. Not every outfit is a winner and sometimes life prevents us from putting our most fashionable foot forward and that’s fine. What’s important is that you feel confident no matter what you have on; and while I’d be lying if I said I felt like a million bucks in this outfit I was so busy yesterday that I didn’t have a moment to worry about it!

Here’s my question to you readers (thanks for reading by the way); in the future should I skip sharing these less than inspiring/fashionable outfit photos with you?

13 responses to “An Unexpected Outfit Post

  1. You still look like a super model! 🙂

  2. Honestly, I really love this outfit! It makes me want to go out and find a top like that – I like the colors and the layers that you created. Please don’t keep these posts from us, just because you don’t feel as fabulous in them doesn’t mean they’re not great outfits!

    • Thanks for the kind words Nicole! I got this top years ago at Charlotte Ruse. It’s a cardigan but I’m liking how it looks as a wrap too.

  3. Caitlin, you could wear a potato sack and make it look great. These kinds of posts are actually wonderful. They make you more real, and not just another girl who always looks good (which you look awesome in these pics- wide my butt!) This was inspirational and I think you should continue to be open and honest. à bientôt!

    • Ooh Aimee, you are just too wonderful for words. I was worried that posting such an un-fashionable outfit would be a turn off but I’m glad I was wrong.

  4. I agree with Aimee, sometimes the impression of other bloggers is that they’re ALWAYS dressed up, and that tends to make me doubt my style sense on those days that I just want to wear jeans and a tee-shirt. It’s great to see more casual looks, and to see that being ‘dressed down’ can be fashionable too! You look great, by the way!

    • Thank you so much Grace! I’m definitely not only of those girl’s who is always dressed up, I love my jeans, tee and converse too much!

  5. I like any outfit post! And I really like the wrap cardigan actually, plain isn’t always bad! It’s a great length, and I am cardigan/belt obsessed right now.

  6. I want them all. I post my daily outfits because that’s what I’m wearing and it’s about putting all of them out there. So, if it’s what you are wanting to do. Do it.

    I personally think this is a wonderful relaxed look. You still styled the sh__ out of it. So, I want to see them. All of them.

  7. Looking gorgeous! Love the hair (I’ll say it again and again) x

  8. I like seeing all of the outfits…uninspired or not…it’s real! Love your glasses…I think this outfit is great!

  9. I like all your posts! Everything inspires me, so please continue to share!

Leave a Reply

