Oddly 80’s

Sunglasses: Downtown Threads, Mock Neck: Boutique in Augusta, Georgia, White & Silver Vest: The Clothes Exchange, High Waisted Jeans: H&M, Pumps: Steve Madden, Watch: Yard sale, Earrings: ZinniaThe longer I look at these photos the more of an 80’s vibe I’m getting.

I’ll be honest the sunglasses were an impulse purchase during one of my weekly trips to Downtown Threads. I liked the angles and the thin metallic floral trim and how different they were from my other sunnies. They’re not exactly flattering but they have a certain Grace Jones quality to them that I like and if I’m being totally honest I give in to the $1 box of random accessories at register at least 60% of the time.

Similar to my sunglasses, I’m not sure if this vest is exactly flattering but something about it spoke to me so I picked it up. It’s hard to see in the photos but the vest has silver and white metallic threading that gives it a subtle sheen. The shoulders are actually my favorite part, they’re structured without being padded and add a unique element to the silhouette.

I’m glad I took a chance on both these pieces. They’re fun and now that I’ve given them a whirl I’m excited to try working them into my everyday wardrobe. I think this vest would be great with a silk blouse, the contrast of the voluminous silk sleeves with the structured shoulder could be great.

What pieces have you recently taken a chance on?

10 responses to “Oddly 80’s

  1. That vest is rad. Just the kind of funky detailing I love in clothes.

    • The details are what sold me on it too Tracy! I wish I could have captured the sheen of the vest better in these photos.

  2. That is a GREAT vest!

  3. I’m digging the vest… and those SHOES (naturally)! The piece I most recently took a chance on were my opaque white tights.

    • Haha thanks Aimee! I was loving your white tights with those Bermuda shorts last night, so I think they were a great piece to take a chance on!

  4. I actually love the vest. I think it’s great and flattering. Awesome!

  5. I’m totally digging the vibe of this look–sunglasses included! Who can resist a $1 accessory?

  6. I love that vest..the draping ans the sheen make it fabulous. Great how you kept the rest of the outfit neutral.

  7. I think the vest is super cute & different. Definitely a good purchase!

    xo,
    Hannah
    http://www.chillairandperfume.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

