Socks and Booties

Blazer: Vintage (via my mom), Socks & Vest: Gifted, Belt: Goodwill, Shirtdress: TJ Maxx, Tights: Target, Booties: Forever 21By the time Friday morning rolls around I’m usually running on empty so the less I have to think about putting together an outfit the better. Inspired by Catherine’s “Chalet Chic” post I used some of my favorite pieces to create this casual New England winter look and was pleasantly surprised by the outcome.

I was fully expecting to hate how the socks looked pulled up with my oxford wedges but I like the pop of color they added. It might not be my most pulled together look (without the blazer, vest or booties it looks like I’m wearing a night shirt with holiday socks) but it was exactly what I was looking for.

What outfits/fashions have surprised you lately?

14 responses to “Socks and Booties

  1. I love it! The socks are a nice touch and totally remind me of winter, more specifically, my trip to Vermont over 15 years ago. 😉

    • Piper you haven’t been to Vermont in 15 years! You need to get out here for a visit and if you make it to Burlington I promise to take you on a killer shopping tour!

  2. I love it! And I definitely like the socks!

  3. Oooh I have the sames shoes and I have been having a lot of trouble styling them…I might be needing to steal this for style inspiration! You rock lady!

    • I love these shoes Lori! Not only are the comfortable but they have the perfect nerdy, English professor feel that I adore. Send me pics when you rock em out next time!

  4. Aww thanks Caitlin! I’m so glad the post inspired you – and I think this outfit looks great!! You look cozy and put-together at the same time – not easy to do! I also LOVE how that blazer and vest look together – what a great outfit!!

    • You’re a total inspiration (as usual) Catherine! I can’t take too much credit for the blazer vest combo. My mom bought me the vest last year for Christmas and the blazer is from the first suit she bought right out of college.

  5. Actually Cait, I LOVE this look on you! The vest is perfect, the wedges are great (especially with the socks) and I love the blazer as well! You look great and I hope you enjoy your weekend!

  6. I’m a big fan of the socks and booties. I love how you are wearing the tunic and vest and blazer. Gorgeous. Also, loving your smile!

    xoxo

  7. ooh I love the layering you did and the booties are soo cute

    love from San Francisco,
    Britt+Whit

  8. Love the outfit, but I absolutely love your hair!!

  9. I love the look, it’s totally chic, while still giving off a sense of practicality. Well done!

  10. I love this look! All the elements work together so well to make a cohesive look, and those socks are adorable!

Leave a Reply

