Paint it Black

Knit Hat: Downtown Threads, Velvet Blazer: Zara, Tank: Charlotte Ruse, Necklace: Dub’s Duds, Ring: Downtown Threads, Boyfriend Jeans: Levi’s, Boots: Old NavyBelieve it or not this outfit took me outside my comfort zone. I’ve been lusting after a pair of combat boots for almost a year now and a few weekends ago when Old Navy was having their killer sale I nabbed these boots for around $15. They’re velvet which gives them a softer look than traditional combat boots which I’m hoping will make them easier to work into my existing wardrobe.

I wasn’t exactly sure how to style my new boots so I opted for a monochromatic look (when in doubt wear black). Next time I’d style them with skinnier jeans or my skinny cargo pants. I think the rolled cuff and slightly baggy cut of the boyfriend jeans made me look a bit stout when paired with the boots.

We’re in the middle of an unseasonably warm spell (high 50’s, low 60’s) so I’ve been wearing lots of layers. Lately my go to outerwear piece has been my velvet blazer from Zara. It’s light enough to be worn under my peacoat but thick/warm enough to wear on its own. Under my blazer I have a long sleeve cardigan and a tank, which have been perfect for keeping me cool during hectic days and warm on my walk home from work.

How would you style these boots? What layering pieces do you rely on to get you through in-between weather?

7 responses to “Paint it Black

  1. I have this exact blazer from Zara. I can’t wait to rock it! Cute look!

  2. I love how you styled it! I think I would wear moto boots with tights and a girly dress – now that would take me out of my comfort zone!

    Also, love your beret. Perfect little touch to this cute outfit. 🙂

  3. I love it too! I’ve been looking for a black blazer!

  4. Pingback: Velvet Bats | Wore Out

  5. Pingback: You’ve seen it all before | Wore Out

  6. Pingback: A Black Out with Blue Jeans | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

