Down on the Boardwalk

Sunnies: Downtown Threads, Hat: UO, Scarf: Cruise Ship Gift Shop, PeaCoat: H&M, Cardi: UO, Sweater Dress: Gifted, Leggings: Target, Boots: Old Navy, Mustard Seed Necklace: Antique Store in NH, Gemstone Necklace: GiftedIt’s crazy to think that parts of Vermont woke up to the first snow of the year this morning. Burlington avoided the fluffy white precipitation but the temperature stayed steady at just few degrees above freezing so I opted for layers of cozy knits. The white sweater dress has short sleeve so the cardigan provided the perfect extra layer of warmth. I was worried my layers would look too bulky so I kept the bottom half simple with black leggings and short moto boots (that bought half off at Old Navy this past weekend!).

I’m really getting into slouchy knit hats this year and I love how this one matches my blue H&M peacoat. I bought this peacoat while on a trip to Bologna, Italy a few years ago. It was a chilly day and I was foolishly under dressed so I nabbed this coat and have been wearing it ever since. The material is lightweight enough that it doesn’t make me feel constricted when I layer underneath it and it’s thick enough to act as  a great barrier against the wind.

Have you seen any snowflakes yet this year? How do you stay warm and fashionable as the temperatures drop?

5 responses to “Down on the Boardwalk

  1. I stay warm and fashionable as the temperatures drop by moving south..maybe you should consider the same? Perhaps Charlotte, NC? Just sayin..

    • I’m taking note Leah! I’ll have to try and come down around our birthday, you can kick J Spoon out for the weekend and we can party it up together with Milo.

  2. I love these wintery layers! All the different lengths and textures work really well together.

  3. You look so warm and cozy in this outfit, it’s super cute. I just bought my first pair of leggings, now I need to be brave enough to wear them.

    To answer your question, we aren’t quite snowflakey yet here in St. Louis, but as the temp drops I try to keep fashionable by adding colorful tights, wearing cute boots, and never, ever, wearing dumpy coats!! Coats, sweaters, hats, and scarves can be cute and fun and colorful too. Just cause it’s winter doesn’t mean you gotta look drab.

    p.s. thanks for the sweet comments on my blog, I love your style! I’ll be adding you to my google reader.

  4. I like the long sweater. Minnesota hasn’t had snow yet, but it could show up at any time.

Leave a Reply

