Cool Tone Color Blocking

Sunglasses: Downtown Threads, Blouse: Battery St Jeans, Belt: T.J Maxx, Skirt: Thrifted, Slip: Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Heels: Target, Bracelet: Gifted, Ring: Montreal St Vendor

I snapped these pictures yesterday when it wasn’t cold, rainy and grey outside (like it is today). I would be lying if I said I wasn’t jealous of the beautiful pink and orange color blocked outfits that I’ve seen virtually everywhere. You blondes and brunettes look stunning in such bright, warm colors; pale redheads like me… not so much.

For my first time playing around with color blocking I opted for cooler jewel tones and kept my accessories to a minimum so the colors were center stage. I wish I’d had a bright solid color heel in yellow, red or pink to pair with this outfit but I liked the texture the snakeskin pumps added to the look.

Have you played around with color blocking? Do you wear more cooler tones or warm tones?

23 responses to “Cool Tone Color Blocking

  1. Great look! I guess I never thought about how my hair color goes with my outfit. Lately I’ve been wearing a lot of black, but not only because it’s slimming, but because it makes me feel bad-ass chic! I am wearing black UGG clog boots today that are loud when I walk around this newsroom, not cool.

  2. Ok, you could do it too!! I promise! It’s all about the tone of the orange and pink! I think I might dare you to try it out. 🙂

    I love these colors together. They’re very nautical, almost. I need a navy pencil skirt now.

    • Catherine, truth be told I was on a youth soccer team when I was about 6 and of course we were the orange team. I got teased by numerous people about my hair matching my shirt etc etc etc and that was the last time orange anything was incorporated in my wardrobe. Recently I started buy orange accessories so maybe with time and some coaching I’ll be able to overcome my orange phobia!

      • Oh that makes me sad. 😦 Your hair is soooo gorgeous – I’ve always been jealous of redheads! (And am secretly hoping one of my kids is a redhead someday!) I fully support you on your way to looking beautiful in orange!

      • Ohh I hope you have a red headed babies! Keep the species going girl! One of the first things my grandma asked my boyfriend when she first met him “are there any red heads in your family?” “mother’s or father’s side? because the gene for red hair is recessive…” he was a little startled. Good news though when he grows his beard out there are a few (ok like 1) red hairs so I have hope!

  3. you don’t need other colors because these colors look great on you! You look stunning! I adore the colors. I have to try this color blocking thing, looks like fun! It’s a good idea to keep it simple and chic. The lovely belt is the best accessory.

    love,mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  4. Yeah, I try not to look like I’m on fire when I color block, so I do tend to avoid the pink and orange. It’s also why I avoid an all-khaki ensemble: I don’t want to look like I’m in costume as a match-stick! But you look lovely, so work it!

    • Your match stick comment caused me to l-o-l in my office! Joking aside it’s a great idea for a Halloween costume… now I wonder how much hair spray it would take to get all my hair to stand up… hum… ponder ponder ponder

  5. Loving the color blocking! The jewel tones are gorgeous. Wishing I could see your heels! Are they leopard?

    • Prissy as soon as I posted I realized I didn’t get a great shot of the heels! They’re actually python and were a whopping $7 at target. Believe it or not the boyfriend picked them out!

  6. Still loving that belt! I love these colors together! SO PRETTY!

  7. I think you could do a hot pink top and an orange jean. For sure. No?

    You are becoming my favorite blogger. Just say’n. I love all your looks and you seem like an incredibly nice person. You are gorgeous with mad style, but you’re humble and cool too.

    • Tracy I wish I could jump through my computer and give you a hug right now! Thank you so much for your sweet words, they came on the tail of an extra-frustrating email (which made them even more wonderful)! I’m on the hunt for a hot pink top, you convinced me! I was thinking hot pink skinny jeans could work too but I’m not sure what shade of orange I could pull off as a top…. ponder ponder

      • You are welcome, my dear.

        OH YES. Hot pink jeans. If you find a pair let me know because I’ve been hunting for a pair myself.

        xoxoxo

  8. Blue and green are one of my fave color combos – this is fantastic on you!

  9. The white belt brought it in. Love the green on blue. I’m inspired.

  10. The blue and green together is beautiful!

    x
    Michelle
    http://www.michellesstylefile.blogspot.com

  11. Such an amazing outfit on you! I love those colors together. And your hair.

  12. I love this take on color-blocking! The jewel tone colors are so beautiful- I want more of these colors in my wardrobe for fall! =)

  13. Loving both this outfit and the conversation on the post in general! (And sorry, totally going through posts I’ve missed recently and can’t help but comment!)

  14. Pingback: Ladylike Lace & Bad Lighting | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

