Dress-up Downtown

Top: Florence, Italy, Gold Belt: Battery St Jeans, Skirt: Downtown Threads, Heels: Michael Antonio (via Endless), Earrings: Gifted, Ring: Northern Lights

I stopped by Downtown Threads after work yesterday to check out their new fall inventory (SO many ah-mazing sweaters) and to see how they were preparing for Burlington’s Fashion’s Night Out festivities. Thursday, September 8 from 6-9pm Burlington’s most fashion forward retailers will celebrate one of fashion’s biggest nights with fashion shows, exclusive discounts, giveaways, makeovers and more!

I suggest visiting Fashion’s Night Out – Burlington facebook page and reading up on all the exciting activities taking place. Than grab you favorite shopping companions and head downtown to take advantage of some seriously stylish savings. A $5 donation to the Red Cross in support of those affected by Tropical Storm Irene gets you 20% off your entire purchase, free nail art and more at Downtown Threads. Oh yeah and I’ll be there too so come say hi! I’d love to shop with you!

…speaking of shopping, if D asks I’m just browsing…I put a few things on hold yesterday while I was at Downtown Threads including the vintage hippo sweater I’m holding in the picture above. Part of me is screaming, “it’s too cute to past up!” While another much smaller part of me is saying, “be practical, when would you ever wear this?”

Are you participating in Fashion’s Night Out? What are your thoughts the hippo sweater? Should I buy it?

27 responses to “Dress-up Downtown

  1. If anyone could pull that sweater off, it would be you! Too funny! 🙂

    • My favorite part is the cursive script on the sleeves! It’s one of those piece where you pause and ask yourself, “is it so cute it’s ugly or so ugly it’s cute!”

  2. Wylie Sofia Garcia

    Heard about you from the free press. I love your blog! Keep up the good work. Check out STRUT this Saturday night at the ArtHop, behind the maltex building on Pine st. Huge awesome fashion show that you will love!

    Best,

    Wylie Garcia

    P.s. If you don’t grab that hippo sweater I would totally rock that in a heart beat. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Wylie! I’m planning on heading to STRUT on Saturday, if you’re there and spot me please come over and say hi! I’m still on the fence about the hippo sweater but I’ll let you know!

  3. I could totally see you in that sweater. Get it.

  4. LOL at your “just browsing” comment! Sounds like so much fun! I love your gold belt!

  5. omgosh….that cardigan is seriously cute!!!!!

  6. Yes, yes you would wear it. The better question is, will I ever find this sweater again? I doubt it. If you think you’ll regret not buying it, grab it. This looks like such an amazing store. I wish I lived closer!

    • I know exactly what you mean. I don’t want to end up kicking myself for not buying it. Downtown Threads is one of my favorite places to shop. If you’re ever in Burlington we’ll make a trip there for sure!

  7. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that sweater!!! It’s a statement piece that will go with anything! Put down the computer, get in your car and go purchase it immediately….it’s FABULOUS! And girly, so are those shoes! I love those! You just look adorable and I wish I could go to that store! ~Serene

  8. There’s more to “wearing” than just putting on an outfit. I have learned from you that it is also “being” what you wear, and projecting what you wear through particular mannerisms and a big smile. I am constantly impressed with your attitude toward “our outer skin”. Bravo!!!~~ FROM Michael B. King; Burlington bred Lead Guitarist and songwriter!

    • I’m so lucky to have you guys in my life Mike. Your support (and delish garden grown veggies) are a big part of why I’m so happy… oh and you’re son is pretty amazing too! Love ya!

  9. Oh you have to get the Hippo sweater! And tonight I am going to participate in Tampabay FNO So excited!!!!

  10. Thanks for your kind words on my bloggy blog! I am now in love with your style! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  11. maybe it’s the fact you’re in one of your natural elements (downtown threads- ha but true) or the plain and bold elements of your outfit, but you look radiant and your hair looks a-maz-ing.

  12. Thank you for visiting my blog, so I could find you and yours.
    I would love to be shopping with you.
    Yes, it is still hot in the South of Spain, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  13. Adding you to my blogroll and following.
    I cannot follow you in ggogle cannot find the gadget.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  14. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

  15. You must buy that sweater!

    • Good news Chelsei, I picked it up yesterday during Fashion’s Night Out! Now I just have to figure out how to style it.

  16. you look amazing from head to toe! every single piece of this look is just great.
    good to hear, that you bought the hippo sweater. too cute!

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

  17. I think you should go for the sweater… its cute and speaks the truth.

  18. get it and if you decide you hate it, Ill buy it off you! It’s so cute!

  19. Pingback: You’ve seen it all before | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

