Champlain Valley Fair

Sunnies: Zinnia, Button up: Walmart, Dress: Macy’s, Belt: Forever 21, Bag: H&M, Coral Necklace: Target, Wood & Gold Bracelet: Gifted, Wooden Necklace: Gifted, Boots: vintage (via Old Gold)

Last week I won a pair of tickets to the Champlain Valley Fair from the wonderful folks at Heritage Automotive Group so this past Friday D and I headed to the fair for a good old fashion date night. It was fun to walk through the exhibit halls and explore all of the vendor’s booths (am I the only one who was surprised to learn that you can buy RVs at the fair?) We found a perfect spot to munch on our maple cotton candy and just enjoyed the beautiful summer night.

I kept my look casual but cute for our date night. This white dress has been hiding in the back of my closet for over a year and it was about time to take it out for a spin. The denim button up and bright jewelry kept my look fun while the boots added a perfect touch of vintage. I bought these boots about a year ago at Old Gold, a great clothing boutique in Burlington that has a constantly changing collection of well worn in boots.

My favorite detailing on the boots is the burn pattern that’s on the back right boot. It looks the original owner left the boots too close to an older radiator or heating grate. I think the marks give the boots character and since I bought them broken in I’m not scared to wear them out to places where they may get dirty or more beat up, like the fair.

Would you buy scarred up boots or invest in a new pair? What did you do this weekend?

10 responses to “Champlain Valley Fair

  1. This outfit is perfect for the fair Your dressed up but not and how cool are those boots!!!! I agree the burn marks add character and make them even cooler!

  2. So many people would shy away from a white dress right before fall, but I love it! With the chambray shirt and the boots, it’s such a perfect transitional look!

    • Thanks Shea! I know you’re not suppose to wear white after Labor Day but I think this dress will be a great layering piece throughout the fall!

  3. Oh YES! I would and HAVE bought distressed items, most especially leather items. I think it just makes them look better! I love your boots!!!
    This whole look is just gorgeous! Perfect for the fair! ~Serene

  4. Those are the cutest previously loved boots I’ve ever seen!

  5. loviing the colorful necklaces, And the boots are so perfect for the look.

    http://myafricancloset.wordpress.com/

  6. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

  7. Mmmm, I’ve never had maple cotton candy, but it sounds absolutely delicious. I’m totally in the mood for fall treats, I think I’m going to make my first attempt at apple butter next week. Love the outfit, especially the pop of color with the necklaces!

    • I love apple butter! Let me know how your first try goes, I’d love to steal the recipe. Fall foods are my favorite, just hearty and delicious!

  8. Pingback: Apple Picking Adventure | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

