New Staples

Button Up: Wal-Mart, Tee: Consignment Shop in Florence

Belt: Possibility Shop, Skirt: Downtown Threads

Wedges: Vintage (via my mom)

So you may be asking yourself, “why are these photos taken from so far away?” Well my allergies flared up, leaving my nose redder than my hair and my eyes as glazed as a Krispy Kreme doughnut. I am miserable. Luckily my allergies will wind down as the cooler fall temperatures roll in. If you have cope with allergies year round, I salute you. I don’t know how you do it.

When I am feeling this yucky comfort is paramount and this look fits the bill. This outfit is made up of two of my wardrobe staples: a distressed denim button up and vintage pleated skirt. If you’ve followed my blog for a while (thank you!) you probably recognize this skirt… since I wore it all summer, (here, here & here).  I never thought I’d say this but this button up, from Wal-Mart, has become a staple in my wardrobe (see here, here, & here).

What pieces do you consider wardrobe staples? What do you wear when you’re feeling under the weather? 

17 responses to “New Staples

  1. I have allergies like crazy so I feel your pain!! Spring is the worst season for my nose 😦 I love the denim top knotted up like that and this green skirt is sooo cute. Love it!
    xJennaD

    • Thanks for your sweet words Jenna! Ugh, allergies are the pits! Even the tissues with lotion feel like sandpaper at this point.

  2. Love this look! When I am feeling crappy I like to wear long empire waist tops and skinny jeans with wedges. Looks good, but is as comfy as jammies.

  3. my jean jacket is my favorite article of clothing! I would wear it every day if I could! 🙂

    • I have been wearing my cropped jean jacket a lot more than I thought this summer. It’s such a great layering piece! Is your jean jacket dark or light wash?

  4. Well no wonder this skirt is a staple….it’s GREAT! A staple for me? Hmmm….I have some leather skirts that always make me feel great. Does that qualify as a staple? You look gorgeous! ~Serene

    • I say anything that makes you feel fabulous each time you wear it is a staple! I got a leather skirt late last winter and I’m still a little unsure of how to style it so I’ll be looking to you for cues!

  5. That is one killer skirt and I love the bumpies on the bottom of your shoes!

  6. Ooh I love the skirt! You look great 🙂 Jeans are definitely a staple/under the weather piece for me. I just throw them on with a tank top and sweater and I’m good to go 🙂
    http://www.closet-fashionista.com

  7. Yes another fabulous way to wear a denim shirt! Thanks for the inspiration.

  8. Being sick is always bad, but I especially hate it when it’s nice out!! I do the same thing as you when I’m sick, having a bad day, dreading something I have to do – I pick out a great outfit. Let me tell you, I’m usually dressed to the nines at the freaking gyno’s office. 🙂

    I’m still coveting your beautiful hair.

  9. You look lovely!! I love your wedges from your mom. I have allergies all the time, and it is not fun. Funny thing is, when I leave my state, my allergies go away. I think I must be allergic to where I’m living currently!

  10. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

