Addison County Fair & Field Days

Last night D and I went to the Addison County Fair & Field Days, Vermont’s largest agriculture fair and a summer tradition. We filled up on delicious fried fair food, met some prize winning farm animals and I saw my very first demolition derby!My favorite part of the derby was the mini-van heat! Since only 5 mini-vans competed there was a lot more open space allowing the drivers to build up speed and cause some serious damage. I tried to take pictures of the mini-van carnage but unfortunately it was too dark. My second favorite part of the fair? The food! As soon as we arrived we hopped in the bloomin’ onion line. Nothing beats the crispy crunchy molten hot deliciousness of this fair treat. After walking off the bloomin’ onion I indulged in a traditional Vermont treat, sugar on snow. It’s basically a bowl of shaved ice covered in local Vermont maple syrup that’s been heated. When the hot syrup hits the ice it immediately forms a  hard, sweet, sticky shell; creating a little bowl of heaven. It’s even better in the winter when they use fresh snow instead of ice! The cutest baby mini donkey ever!How chic is this black and white pattern?! Outfit inspiration is everywhere!If you’re looking for a fun, family friendly activity this weekend I highly recommend you check out the Addison County Fair & Field Days. There’s more demo derby tonight and great events happening all weekend.

What are some of your favorite local summer events?

8 responses to “Addison County Fair & Field Days

  1. Looks like you had a great time. I have never gone, but might be going tonight. Was there an extra charge to watch the demo derby, or is that part of the fair admission?

    • I would highly recommend you go if you have a chance tonight, it was a lot of fun! The demo derby was included in the price of admission. If you want a seat in the grandstand plan to camp out early but there’s ton of room on the grass (where we sat). Each heat’s about 25-30 minutes and then they have to clear the broken down cars away so we used those breaks to go get food and check out other exhibits! Let me know how it is if you end up checking it out!

      • The derby was a blast! Can’t wait to go again next year. We sat on the grass, too. Right in front. Got some mud thrown at us, but we loved it.

      • I was totally impressed by the derby but I thought the mini-van heat stole the show! I couldn’t believe how much abuse those things took! Proof that they are one of the safest cars out there.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog! Your hair is so beautiful and I would have loved to meet that little donkey. He is so adorable!

  3. that bloomin onion looks amazing! and that maple thingy looks amazing! ive never seen that here in canada!

  4. nice! x

    p.s. I’m having a sunglasses giveaway if you’d like to check it out!
    devorelebeaumonstre.com

  5. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

