Farmer’s Market Fire Escape

Sunnies: Zinnia, Shirt: The Children’s Place, Belt: Target, Bracelet: Gifted, Skirt: H&M, Slip: Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Sandals: Payless

With back to school ads popping up everywhere summer days seem even sweeter. Saturday D and I got a late start and headed to the Burlington farmer’s market around noon. We snacked on veggie tamales with zucchini salsa, spicy potato samosas and split a delicious almond, raspberry, chocolate and hazelnut tartlet on the walk home. Life in Vermont is good!

After we’d eaten our fill we picked up a fresh head of lettuce, a crisp cucumber and this beautiful bunch of zinnias. Coincidentally the sunnies I’m wearing in this post (a recent fashion indulgence) are from one of my favorite jewelry stores in Burlington, Zinnia.

I liked how the bright colors of the flowers looked in contrast to the soft green skirt and antique lace slip. The slip poking out from underneath my skirt isn’t just for looks; the cut of this skirt makes it extremely vulnerable to sneaky gusts of wind. I accidentally flashed an unsuspecting guy in the stairwell of my office building… it scarred us both. Since then I always play it safe and wear a slip, it’s an added bonus that this vintage slip has beautiful lace edging that adds a certain romantic touch to any outfit.

Do you wear slips or are they too old fashioned? Do you have a local farmer’s market? What produce is in season where you are? 

4 responses to “Farmer’s Market Fire Escape

  1. I love the slip with the skirt! That’s such a good idea, I never would have thought of it. Also, those flowers are beeeeeautiful!

  2. This is such a cute outfit – especially with those gorgeous flowers. I love how your sunnies echo the bracelet. Adorbs!!

    My Closet in Sketches

  3. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

  4. This is so sweet & simple & summery! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

