Birds of a Feather

Sunnies: Tom Ford (gifted), Top: Target, Assorted Bracelets: Gifted, Skirt: Downtown Threads, Heels: ALDO

While cropped tops have been one of the hottest trends this season I’m still warming up to them. The idea of an exposed midsection (no matter how small the area exposed) is a bit foreign to me but when I found this adorable silk crop top I couldn’t help myself. I snapped it up and hoped that its chic but simple feather pattern would turn me into a belly baring fool!

When the shopping high wore off and I got my new purchase home I tried it with a variety of bottoms and realized I wasn’t quite ready to bare my belly. Instead I opted for a classic silhouette and treated it like a billowy blouse; tucking it into my favorite vintage skirt from Downtown Threads. Sometimes old favorites sparkly even more when paired with newer on trend pieces.

How do you mix new pieces into your wardrobe? How have you styled cropped tops this season?

5 responses to “Birds of a Feather

  1. The bird top is great – but those shoes are awesome! I’ve just started spying Asos for great shoes, and those are winners!

  2. I have that top and I love it, and I love how you styled it. I do not have a nice waist to show but I faked it as a regular top and paired it with a dress and a thick belt. You can see it in my post here.. http://blackshoesdiary.blogspot.com/2011/07/bob-mackie-art-event.html

  3. I bought that same top at Target! It’s so great – I recently wore mine with a cropped skinnies & a chain necklace. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

  5. I’m giving you ten points for even buying a crop top, I just can’t get up the will…I fear them! That one is adorable, and it looks great tucked into the skirt.

Leave a Reply

