Rural Landscape

Sunnies: Downtown Threads, Dress & Vintage Slip: Downtown Threads, Wedges: Vintage (via my Mom)“…seemingly endless emerald green fields lead to forests crowned by magnificent mountains…” VT

I’ve lived in Vermont for almost 5 years and I’m still in awe of the beautiful landscape. This weekend D and I visited his parents and I insisted that we stop and take pictures in their neighbor’s field. The bales of hay still had the sweet smell of freshly cut grasses and I couldn’t resist the temptation to clamor all over them, carefully of course! D, content to blame my coastal Maine upbringing for my fascination with all things farm life, snapped these pictures for me.

Summertime signifies simple outfits and this outfit is no exception. I love how easy it is to look pulled together in just a dress and wedges. Summer is also synonymous with swimming which means my hair is left to air dry most nights causing an explosion of curls. For a fun no fuss approach to beach/lake hair gather and braid a 1-2 inch section of hair halfway up the left side of the head (right in front of the ear works best). Once braided lay the braid across the top of your head and secure it behind your right ear with bobby pins, creating a braid headband of sorts.  Repeat this on the right side of your head and pin it behind you’re left ear for a more glam, double braid  look.

How does your style change during the summer? Are you a city girl or does the countryside speak to you?

5 responses to “Rural Landscape

  1. Hey lady! I grew up in Maine, too, and went to summer camp in Vermont. I love seeing all of your photos out there in the country. Your hair sure is pretty, too. New England style bloggers unite!

    • Thanks for the shout out and sweet comment Laurel! I love connecting with other stylish New England ladies/bloggers!

  2. Stunning dress, you are beautiful!
    xo Cara
    http://www.afashionloveaffair.com

  3. My mom used to make a braid on either side of my hair that was about a half-inch wide, then joined them in the back…it was always my favorite hair style! Your description reminded me of it. 🙂 I’m so envious of your beautiful red hair! Love the dress, too. We gotta get on this whole shopping together thing already. 😉

  4. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

