A Tad Run Down

Sunnies: Greece, Jacket: TJ Maxx, Dress: Plato’s Closet, Belt: Goodwill, Heels: Target

I found this dress while weeding through my closet this past weekend. I’d forgotten how cute the subtle metallic stripes looked but as soon as I slipped it over my head I remembered why I’d put it in the back of the closet… it’s a nightmare to style.

I’m not thrilled with today’s look but I had to get to work and didn’t have time to change (again) so I’m making the best of it. I just have to remind myself that no one is looking at my outfit as critically as I am but still it’s frustrating.

In an attempt to draw attention away from the potato sack dress I went with a fun, bright geometric print heels. The wooden heel and studded detailing complimented the subtle gold striping and helped tie the whole look together. I bought these heels a few years ago while I visiting Seattle. My boyfriend at the time said they were “trampy” so of course I had to buy them… and wear them the rest of our trip.

For the record, D likes them. He says they looked like an 80’s zebra and I’m taking that as a compliment.

 

Who influences your fashion choices? How should I style this potato sack next?

 

4 responses to “A Tad Run Down

  1. are you kidding me? this dress look fabulous on you! i love it with the belt and the shoes. i wouldn’t change a thing!

  2. Clearly, your last boyfriend had no taste, because those shoes are excellent. I think you styled the dress really nicely! I know what you mean about that one dress that seems so cute, but just resists any attempts to go with the rest of the necessary items to make an outfit, I have a potato sack-ish dress that tries to sabotage me constantly.

  3. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

