High Style at Shelburne Museum

Earrings: Thrifted, Knit Cardigan: Consignment Shop on Cape Cod, Blouse: H&M (via Clothes exchange), Belt: Target, Knit Skirt: Forever 21, Boots: Florence, Italy

Over the weekend I visited Shelburne Museum with the fabulous James from Downtown Threads to check out In Fashion: High Style, 1690-2011, the first major fashion/costume exhibit in the museum’s history.

The exhibit featured costumes from the museum’s own collection as well as pieces from fashion royalty like Karl Lagerfeld, Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera and Balenciaga. Included in this wonderful exhibit are works from FIT students tasked with creating a look that complimented a historic bodice from the museum’s personal and permanent collection. I was so excited to capture the exhibit with my new camera but Karl didn’t want his dresses photographed so the whole exhibit was off limits. Boo!

I knew we were going to be walking around and battling rain showers all day so I kept my outfit simple by choosing comfortable staples. The knit of the pencil skirt makes it as comfortable to wear as a pair of leggings and the linen blouse kept me cool as we walked from exhibit to exhibit. It’s remarkable how easy it is too look put together without sacrificing on ounce of comfort.

What do you wear when you need to be presentable but comfortable? Have you visited Shelburne Museum?

5 responses to “High Style at Shelburne Museum

  1. Wow the last time I went to the Shelburne Museum I think I was in Junior High and we went for a class trip. I remember being so unimpressed because I was used to bigger museums like those in Boston. I think the next time I am home to see my family I may have to check it out again. I think as an adult I would appreciate it much more now.

    P.S. The outfit looks fabulous.

  2. I love love love the colour of your cardigan! ❤ And I am so envious of your amazing hair! Be sure to enter my £100 ASOS giveaway!

    x
    Lost in the Haze

  3. I definitely want to see this exhibit!

    • You should! It’s so beautiful, it runs into October. Pick up a copy of Seven Days (or check out their website) they did a great piece on the exhibit.

  4. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

